RAM upgrade for old iMac g5?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by lewisweekly, Dec 1, 2013.

  1. lewisweekly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Location:
    Cambridge area
    #1
    Hello, I just got my hands on an old iMac g5 via Ebay. The mac has all your standard specs: 1GB RAM, Intel Core 2 duo etc... But the hard drive has been re-formatted and is now running windows 8. My question is, how much RAM is this device upgradable to? I understand with the older mac OS's you could upgrade to a maximum of 2GB, and a maximum of 3GB with the newer OS's. But what about Windows 8, would it be possible to upgrade to say 4 or even 6GB or would the iMac simply not recognise that amount?

    Thank you

    regards, Lewis W
     
  2. chibiterasu macrumors 6502

    chibiterasu

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    London, The United Kingdom
    #2
    Hi I think this is in the wrong section, you say G5 in the title and then core 2 duo in your question. Which processor do you have??
     
  3. lewisweekly, Dec 1, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2013

    lewisweekly thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Location:
    Cambridge area
    #3
    Thanks for coreecting me then, i will ask for this thread to be removed. it was labled as a power pc strangely...
     
  4. chibiterasu macrumors 6502

    chibiterasu

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    London, The United Kingdom
    #4
    Thats alright, yeah if its an intel chip inside then its not a powerpc mac.
     
  5. tampasteve macrumors 6502

    #5
    People on ebay sometimes do not know the difference. I bought a 17" imac G5 that turned out to be a 20" Core Duo when it arrived! Likewise I have seen G5 Powermacs labeled as Mac Pro...or the mythical "Powermac Mac Pro" is sometimes posted.
     
  6. lewisweekly thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Location:
    Cambridge area
    #6
    Wow... I hope my one turns out to be this!
     

Share This Page