RAM Upgrade Q...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by viggen61, May 23, 2008.

  1. viggen61 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    I've got a 2.33 Ghz MBP with 2GB of Apple RAM.

    I'm looking to max it out at 3GB. I know that I have to remove one of the 1GB modules, and replace it with a 2GB module.

    I saw something on OWC's site today that got me thinking. They offer a "matched" 3GB set. I was wondering if there is any real performance advantage.

    Also, has anyone taken advantage of their trade-in?

    Thanks!

    :apple:
     
  2. greekpaz22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #3
    not really going to make a big difference from past experience..
     
  3. mejia67 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #4
    I kinda new to Mac Operation system, But I recently purchased a MBP 2.16ghz which also max at 3gb. Well What I did was installed a kit of 2x 2gb and now on my system it is showing up as 4gb!!! by the way I got the kit from newegg.com for $68

    hope that helps any...
     
  4. viggen61 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Good guides, yes, but I'm still confused about package that OWC is selling. From what I understand, there is a 6-8% boost to speed with "matched" RAM, which I always thought meant at LEAST matched in size, like 2x 1GB or 2x 2GB.

    OWC is selling a "matched" 3GB set with one 2GB and 1 1GB. Does anyone know for sure if this works as advertised?:confused:

    I've already got 2x1GB Apple RAM, so it's probably worth it to me to "keep" them matched.

    Of course, I could just splurge on 2x2GB for a totla of 4, even though I'll only get to use 3.3 of that...
     
  5. viggen61 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    From what I've been able to ascertain, even though "About this Mac" and "System Profiler" show you 4GB, the OS can only address 3.3 GB of that amount. I can't recall which app you need to launch to prove that (System Monitor?), but it's only the MBPs intro'ed later in 2007 that can address 4 GB (the Penryn MBPs?).

    It's a hardware limitation.
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    It's semantics
    "Matching" in a 3 GB kit means the modules are the same brand. It does not mean that they run dual channel access and there is no benefit other than the presumption of a higher certainty of compatibility between the 2 modules.

    Matching for dual channel access means the same size, speed and composition of the 2 modules.
     
  7. viggen61 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    That's what I thought. But since "matched RAM" has a particular connotation, and indeed, technical meaning, aren't they stretching the truth a bit, if not outright falsely advertising? :eek:

    So basically, at this point, the only way I can keep the RAM matched would be to buy 2x2GB & end up wasting 700 MB of that...

    Something to ponder...
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    Yes, that's the only way to get dual channel memory access.
     

Share This Page