Ram Upgrade Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KILLxTAC, May 28, 2009.

  1. KILLxTAC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys. I am looking to upgrade the ram I have in my Macbook Pro. here are its specs:

    17" Macbook Pro w/ Glossy Screen
    - Mac OS X Version 10.5.6
    - Processor: 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    - Memory: 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
    - Graphics: GeForce 8600M GT


    I was wondering if my laptop can have up to 6GB of ram or if the max is 4...I have been looking at either one of these two ram options but if my machine can handle 6GB, then I think I may go BIG!

    4Gb Option
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/53C4DDR2P4GB/

    6Gb Option
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/5300DDR2S6GP/



    Thanks and any help will be appreciated.
     
  2. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #2
    According to what I read:

    *Apple officially supports a maximum of 4 GB of RAM but third-parties have been able to upgrade the system to 6 GB of RAM using one 2 GB and one 4 GB memory module.

    Source
     
  3. KILLxTAC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #3
    Thanks for the response. I just wanted to make sure that if I did get the 6Gb option that it wouldn't mess up my laptop for having "to much" ram in it.
     
  4. KILLxTAC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #5
    Good Deal...thanks a lot guys. I have never bought RAM before, is OWC ram good?
     
  5. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #6
    I see no reason to run 6GB of ram in that machine... It wont run in dual channel and you most likely have no real need for 6GB. 4GB is plenty for the machine and it will run like a dream.
     
  6. JCastro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #7
    Yeah, OWC is good to go. Crucial is also very good.
     
  7. KILLxTAC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #8
    Thanks everybody. Nik, I ordered just the 4Gb option. Saved me a lot of money. Looking forward to getting it in. Hope it makes my Pro Tools run faster :)
     
  8. Sparky9292 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Just a heads up if you really needed 6GB, the gain from that additional RAM will overcome whatever negligible decrease in loss of dual channel performance.
     
  10. Sparky9292 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #11
    ..except that the Santa Rosa MBP's can't take more than four (according to the macrumers wiki)
     

Share This Page