Ram Upgrade Recommendations

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shakeman0, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. shakeman0 macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #1
  2. ZebOfMac macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #2
    I have used them in the past with no problems. Most people with macs prefer the crucial ram as they are the ones who supply apple's ram.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Kingston RAM is fine and comes with lifetime warranty. However, I would buy this instead as it leaves you an option to easily upgrade the RAM to 8GB in the future

    Apple uses various RAM brands, such as Crucial, Samsung and Hynix.
     
  4. shakeman0, Feb 1, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2011

    shakeman0 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #4
    Thats a great idea! I found this on Amazon Crucial Ram. Will that work? If I use that 4GB module, would I actually have 5GB of ram since I would keep one of my 1GB ram modules that came with the computer? Is it ok to use to different brands of ram?
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    That Crucial RAM will work too (though it's more expensive ;)). And yes, you will have 5GB of RAM. Using different brands is fine, as long as the specs are equal.
     
  6. ZebOfMac macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #6

    As Hellhammer mentioned this will work fine. Using either company of ram will give the same results.
     
  7. shakeman0 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #7
    Alright, great! Thanks for the help! I really appreciate it! Is it worth the extra $10 or so dollars to get the Crucial ram?
     
  8. briguy21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #8
    I would use OWC RAM, I love the ram that I just bought, 100.00 for 8 GIG of Matched Ram .
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    IMO no. G.Skill is a good brand and I've seen people using the same RAM I linked in Macs. I always buy the cheapest RAM as long as it's a known brand (like G.Skill, Crucial or Kingston)
     
  10. shakeman0 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #10
    Ok, thanks again for all the help! So, just to make sure, will this ram work in my Macbook Pro?
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    It should work
     
  12. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #12
    Some people have reported 8GB upgrades for like $50 and under...its goin down town in price baby!
     
  13. toughluck macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #13
    I was going to replace my RAM with Crucial (2 x 4) 204- pin DDR3
    Has anyone tried this ram because its 1333 and i was wondering if it utilized the extra speed?

    -toughluck
     
  14. shakeman0 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #14
    Alright, great! Thanks again for all the help!
     
  15. jim9112 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #15
    I just ordered a package like that too
     
  16. bigfoamfinger12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
  17. BigMoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    #17
    I dont think it will give you 5GB of RAM if you leave one of your 1GB sticks because they run on dual channel, and both chips have to be the same. I could be wrong, but that's what i have heard.
     
  18. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #18
    You can mix different capacities. In this case, the first 2GB (1GB from both modules) will run in dual-channel while the remaining 3GB will run in single-channel. It's not something you should worry about as more RAM is always better then channeling.
     
  19. tasslehawf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #19
    I'll recommend Data Memory Systems. I've been using them since I upgraded Simms in my LCIII and Quadra 950. They really stand by their product. Prices are competative.
     
  20. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #20
    Just checked and the Crucial 4GB DDR3-1333 (PC3-10666) CL 9 SO-DIMM Laptop Memory Module mentioned here:

    ..is sold out. It's $90 for 2x4gb on newegg: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148276 and I was going to go with that but with hellhammer's post:
    I'm thinking of just getting the The G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Laptop Memory Model F3-8500CL7D-8GBSQ for $80 and savings $10

    (looking to put this in my 15" MacBook Pro i5 mid-2010
     
  21. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #21
    It will work. You can check its feedback in NewEgg, there are several reviewers with 2010 MBPs (just added this so you will feel more comfortable ;))
     
  22. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #22
    ^ah, I was right about to just pull the trigger on the G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Laptop Memory Model F3-8500CL7D-8GBSQ but when I compared the reviews to the Crucial 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Laptop Memory Model CT2KIT51264BC1067, it seemed that the G.Skill had more recent complaints (although I respected G.Skill themselves for replying to the complaints). Seemed the safer route was to go with Crucial based on that. At only $10 I didn't feel too bad. Had the difference been $20 or so, then I would have chanced it with the G.Skill
     
  23. ljonesj macrumors 6502a

    ljonesj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Kingsport TN
    #23
    well i just bought gskill ram for my mac mini to upgrade it 8gb as i am using up a ton of memory my mini
     
  24. Blu101 macrumors 6502a

    Blu101

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #24
    I don't think it can use the extra speed. You're better off matching the original RAM speed of your mbp when upgrading.
     
  25. skidmarc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    #25
    You can use a 1333 RAM but the computer will only run it at 1066/1067. Most memory is backwards compatible, all things being equal.

    In order to utilize the 1333 your logic board/motherboard/mainboard will have to support 1333 memory, otherwise it will step down.
     

Share This Page