Ram upgrade?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BealsPainting, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. BealsPainting macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #1
    Can anyone tell me. I just ordered an new Imac (27, 3.4 mh) and ordered 8gb of Ram from Crucial to upgrade the Ram from 4gb to 12gb. Should I install that Ram before I start up the computer or setup up the computer and then install?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Doesn't matter. RAM is volatile memory so it is wiped everytime you reboot. I would set it up first though to make sure it works.
     
  3. BealsPainting thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #3
    Makes cents to me

    Thanks I was thinking it wouldn't matter but wasn't sure, Thanks again!
     
  4. TheUndertow macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    #4
    Better safe than sorry, but it "should" go fine either way.

    At least that way you know it's good out of the box with the supported configuration.

    Either way you'll be going back to stock RAM for testing if the new RAM + Comp has an issue.
     
  5. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #5
    Good choice on the Crucial 8GB kit! That's what I did and now have 12GB too :)

    It doesn't really matter which way round you do it. I set up my new iMac and the Crucial RAM arrived the next day so powered down and installed it then.
     
  6. Benz63amg macrumors 68020

    Benz63amg

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #6
    i have 12gb also with 8gb of crucial ram for total of 8, machine is a beast :D;
     

Share This Page