RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by DJLC, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. DJLC macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #1
    I have a late 2006 white MacBook; 2GHz, 2GB RAM. I have two 1GB chips installed currently, obviously. I also have a 2GB chip that I got from a friend. Will installing 2+1 give me the max of 3GB, or will it only recognize 1.5GB per slot? Also, would this negatively impact performance b/c it's not a matched pair? It's definitely aching for more RAM...
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Your Macbook will see a total of 3Gb of ram. It will be a tiny bit slower because it is not a matched pair.
     
  3. DJLC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #3
    What's your suggestion? Would the extra gig of RAM effectively negate the performance hit from the unmatched pair?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    The best upgrade would be two 2Gb sticks for a matched pair. But, even the 1+2Gb sticks should make it go a bit faster.
     
  5. DJLC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #5
    No go… doesn't boot with the 2+1 configuration. Maybe I just got a bad 2GB stick.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Are you sure its the right speed?
     
  7. DJLC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #7
    Not at all. My friend actually got it for his newer unibody MacBook, but it turned out to be the wrong kind. It was too late to return it, so he gave it to me…

    2GB DDR2-667. Compatible with Intel iMac, MacBook, and MacBook Pro according to the packaging.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    That should work in your Macbook. Don't know why it won't boot with it.
     
  9. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #9
    3 GB unmatched is faster than 2 GB matched.
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    My tests show otherwise. Particularly in the video test, where an early Macbook needs the most help.
     
  11. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #11
    Really? All my research shows the opposite, but I haven't done any tests myself. I'd love to see them.
     
  12. TJC747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #12
    This is a bit off topic, but I have a Macbook (Mid 2007). I have 1 GB of RAM but it can only take 3 GB max.

    Should I just buy 2 things of 2 GB memory chips, or is there a 3 GB RAM chip out there? Do they even make them?

    OR, should I just save the money and do 1 GB and then 2 GB for the two chips. Thanks guys.
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    3Gb chips don't exist. For the fastest speeds, 2x2Gb is the way to go.

    The next time I mix up my RAM amongst my Macs, I'll post the results. Currently, my mid-07 Blackbook has 2x2Gb.
     
  14. TJC747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #14
  15. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #15
    Cool, I look forward to it.

    I have 6 GB in my MacBook, and it's blazing.
     
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    The unmatched will work. Its still an upgrade over 2Gb though.

    That RAM is for desktops. You need the smaller laptop ram: http://www.amazon.com/PNY-Channel-P...5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1311395334&sr=1-5

    I wish my Blackbook could see 6Gb. Sadly, I'm stuck with 3.3Gb.
     
  17. TJC747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #17
    Wow I didn't even see that - I guess I'll buy it right now then. Thanks Intell you're a life saver.
     
  18. TJC747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #18
    God so many people are saying it doesn't work with Macbooks, and some people are saying it does - I don't know what to do!
     
  19. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #19
    I would have loved to see a video of you trying to cram those two big sticks into a Macbook. :D
     
  20. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #20
  21. TJC747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #21
    That looks good but I have Amazon Prime and I'm trying to take advantage of it. This may sound stupid but can I just buy two 2GB sticks individually? It would be like $5 more but it would be the same product, no?

    How can I tell if they're laptop or dekstop besides looking for it in the product name? GAH this is so confusing.
     
  22. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #22
    You can buy two separate sticks if you want. Just make sure they are almost the same.

    You can tell if its desktop or laptop just by looking at the picture. The desktop kind is really long. The laptop kind is short and wide.
     
  23. TJC747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #23
  24. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #24
  25. TJC747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #25
    Cool. This is unrelated but I'm about to get Snow Leopard from a friend and then buy Lion. Will Lion slow down my Macbook at all? Is it even worth buying it. I know the gestures feature won't work but will that detract from its value at all?
     

Share This Page