Ram Upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Nyy8, May 6, 2012.

  1. Nyy8 macrumors 6502a

    Nyy8

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    New England
    #1
    So I thought 4GB would be enough for me, I was wrong :p with 450MB on pageouts in 7 hours. I think its time for a little more ram, so im shopping around and need advice. I want a 8GB x 2 (16GB total) to set myself up for 32GB later on. So, what do you recommend? and what is this "Dual Channel" memory, and can I keep it with a ram upgrade. and I was thinking, could I put the stock 4Gb and combine it with 16Gb, for a total of 20GB? or would that not work? any help is greatly appreciated, would also like links if possible?

    Thanks,
    Jake
     
  2. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #2
    Jake, what Mac do you have?

    The memory you need will be greatly dependent on the machine you have.
     
  3. Nyy8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nyy8

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    New England
  4. dearlaserworks, May 6, 2012
    Last edited: May 6, 2012

    dearlaserworks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Location:
    Eastern Shore, USA
    #4
    You can do that, but you'll pay $200 to add 16GB (2x8GB) that way. For $100 you can yank the stock 4GB and install 16GB (4x4GB). Or, for $50 you could add 8GB (2x4GB) for 12GB total. Either will likely give you plenty of breathing room for less per GB. The 8GB modules are still pricey, so I'd say wait til they drop in price before jumping to 32GB.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/iMac/2011/DDR3_21.5_27
     
  5. And1ss macrumors 6502a

    And1ss

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #6
    If you are based in the US (I know they ship internationally), go with OWC. My other option is kingston.
     
  6. Spike88, May 10, 2012
    Last edited: May 10, 2012

    Spike88 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #7
    For my iMac, I went with "$50 to add 8GB (2x4GB) for 12GB total" - for my "average home user with NO gaming" usage and it works great. Actually, total of 8 GBs (using factory Apple 2x2 + 3rd party 2x2) would have worked great as well. But, RAM being so low cost price these days, I went 3rd party + 2x4s instead (to create 12 GB).

    As seen below, Swap Outs = 0, and Swap Use is 0 as well…

    [​IMG]
     
  7. FACADE macrumors newbie

    FACADE

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
  8. user418 macrumors 6502a

    user418

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #9
    Great!! Hope it works out as well for you as it has for me.
     

Share This Page