Ram upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fezzaben, Jul 5, 2012.

  1. fezzaben macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #1
    Hi people, can anyone answer this question. Ive just aquired a 8gb ram stick for my mbp 13.3" .
    So the 2gb stick then a kingston 8gb. Am i likely to run into any problems. I know ram should be brand matched but obviously a freebies u cant grumble.

    Any advise welcome
     
  2. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #2
    Please provide more detail about the MBP, such as which Model Identifier shows up in Apple -> About This Mac -> More Info -> System Report -> Hardware Overview (assuming you are running Lion).
     
  3. fezzaben, Jul 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2012

    fezzaben thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #3
    Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core i5
    Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 384 MB
    Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 (11E53)

    hope this helps the kingston ram product number is KVR1333D3S9/8G
     
  4. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #4
    Something more along the lines of this:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    He posted all the information you need, why do you need a screenshot? The 13" MBP 2.5GHz i5 is the 2011 model.
     
  6. InlawBiker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #6
    That is the correct RAM type and speed, which is all that's really important.

    I would have no problem mixing them at all. I don't believe you would get dual-channel but so what, 10GB is better than 4!

    If you want to play it safe I would try it in this order.

    1. Remove the bottom of the laptop per the instructions.
    2. Remove both 2G modules, install the 8G module.
    3. Boot and test, make sure it reports 8G memory.
    4. Install the 8 + 2 = 10. Again make sure it works.
    5. Replace the bottom cover.
    6. Rock on!
     
  7. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    There are benefits for putting same RAM brands and size, but depending on your use, you cant even tell.
     
  8. fezzaben thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #8
    Fanks everyone for the tips ill be Putting it in later today. Oh and if batman arkham asylum runs well on 4gb i wonder how good it will be on 10gb any guesses
     
  9. l..k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #9
    fezzaben would you please post if the 8G ram module works in your mac?

    I believe it do and I am going to buy 2 such modules for my mac (with the same Sandy Bridge i5 CPU).

    So if by any chance it does not work, please write back.
    Thanks!
     

Share This Page