RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Curt14, Dec 3, 2014.

1. Curt14 macrumors newbie

Hi there,

I just thought I'd pop in and ask a few questions and hoping they get answered in regards of upgrading my RAM.

I'm considering buying 8GB RAM to install instead of 4GB's, I'm a Graphic Designer so I'm constantly using Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign and so on and it gets really laggy and sluggish with them all open. I was just wondering if buying the extra memory would help speed up my laptop?

Looking at my page ins and outs I have 1.91GB ins and 3MB outs with Finder, Chrome, Spotify, Photoshop and Illustrator running. I'm not too familiar with the technical side but I assume that's not amazing? Oh, and around 15-25mbs free... But it also says I have 1GB inactive. Is there a way to fix it up?

MacBook Pro Mid 2009 15", 2.53GHz, 10.7.5, 4GB RAM

Thanks heaps!

2. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

brdeveloper

8GB plus a SSD wouldn't hurt. It would help if you're experiencing lags caused by multitasking all these apps. It won't help on processing time, though. If you want exporting and filtering faster, you need buying a new Mac.

This said, I think it's worth upgrading RAM and the HDD to a SSD. You'll only get annoyed with processing times, but not with multitasking anymore.

3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Your page outs are relatively small. How long has it been since you rebooted? Page outs are cumulative since your last restart, so the best way to check is to reboot, then track your page outs under your normal workload. If they're minimal or none, buying more RAM won't improve performance.

Using Activity Monitor to read System Memory and determine how much RAM is being used (OS X Mountain Lion and earlier)

However, upgrading from a spinning hard drive to a SSD will give you a noticeable improvement in performance, if you haven't done so already.

If you're having performance issues, this may help: