RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by AppleInTheMud, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. AppleInTheMud macrumors 6502

    AppleInTheMud

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    Vojens Denmark
    #1
  2. page404 macrumors regular

    page404

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    Kingston has a KTA series (Kingston Tested for Apple). I'm not sure if it's just marketing, but I would prefer that type.
    Anyways, the most important thing is you have the SO-DIMM with this specifications:
    • PC3-12800
    • Unbuffered
    • Nonparity
    • 204-pin
    • 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM
    So I guess the Valueram you mentioned should work. Make sure you can return or swap it at the reseller if it doesn't work properly.
     
  3. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #3
    Is that a 21 inch or 27 inch. The 21 inch is very difficult to upgrade the ram.

    https://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/iMac+Intel+21.5-Inch+EMC+2638+Teardown/17829

    Also have you checked her RAM usage to see if it will be any help??? If her RAM pressure graph stays in the green it will make little to no difference to you upgrading the RAM and an SSD will provide a much better performance boost.
     
  4. cbrand493 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #4
    "My daughters 27" iMac"
     
  5. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #5
  6. AppleInTheMud thread starter macrumors 6502

    AppleInTheMud

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    Vojens Denmark
  7. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #7
    I would not upgrade the RAM. 8GB is already a lot, so you won't see any difference in the way the computer works. If you put in an SSD you will see a night and day difference. It'll be very very fast.
     
  8. AppleInTheMud thread starter macrumors 6502

    AppleInTheMud

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    Vojens Denmark
    #8
    8 GB in 2015 isn't that much, if you do a lot at once, and she already has a SSD drive, but thanks for the advice :)
     

Share This Page