RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mifka, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. mifka macrumors member

    mifka

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Moldova
    #1
    I want uprade my RAM to 4 GB, but i don't know what brand to buy(Kingston? PQI? Apacer?...?). Now in my Mac's RAM slot there is 1GB DDR2 SDRAM 667Mhz.........must i buy the same type (i mean DDR2 SDRAM 667Mhz) or i can buy 800Mhz or 1333Mhz, will they work? Advice me please.
    Thanks.
     
  2. fivepoint macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #2
    Go to www.crucial.com, choose your machine from the drop-down list, and click the order button. Crucial memory is of top-quality, and is very affordable.

    Good luck!
     
  3. GregE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #3
    You can also go to Other World Computing.

    That's where I got the RAM for my iMac. They have an easy way to pick out the RAM for your Mac. I had a great experience there and would definitely go back. (I do use Crucial for PC memory.)
     
  4. BaronvdB macrumors 6502

    BaronvdB

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #4
    I just bought 4GB of crucuial RAM through buy.com...i was planning on just buying a 1gb stick for cheap and adding it to my current 1gb in my iMac, but for $70 for 4GB (2GBx2) after rebates I couldn't pass it up (you have place to two separate orders with different address so you can get two rebates).

    I had crucial bullistix in my old sony PC and it performed very well.

    (although i do agree with other members that their pricing tactics are pretty annoying).
     
  5. fivepoint macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #5
    My crucial RAM is probably sitting in the snow right in front of my door as I write this. Better get home and save it from the elements!
     

Share This Page