RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MacTH, May 14, 2008.

  1. MacTH macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #1
    I am a Mac user in Norway looking to upgrade my RAM.
    I have a Macbook pro 2.16 intel core 2 duo with 2GB 667mhz ddr2 sdram.

    Max usage is 3GB so what is the best RAM option for best effecency?

    How does Corsair MAC Memory PC5300 DDR2 4GB KIT, SO-DIMM 200pin , CL4, 667mhz, 2GB+2GB rank compared to other recamended brands like Crucial?

    Does the RAM have to say MAC Memory or will any PC5300 DDR2 SO-DIMM 200pin 667mhz do?

    What`s best buffered or non buffered?
     
  2. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #2
    Crucial and OWC are well known and trusted. I would consider them only. The price difference is negligable between other suppliers.
     
  3. MacTH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #3
    Forgott

    Thanks, but forgott to ask this:

    Does the RAM have to say MAC Memory or will any PC5300 DDR2 SO-DIMM 200pin 667mhz do?
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    Most PC2-5300 SO-DIMM RAM will work but you should buy it from someone that will either guarantee that it will work with a MBP or that will accept returns if it doesn't.
     
  5. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #5
    Why are you getting another 4gbs when you already have 2gbs? If you have 2 sticks of 1gb then just get a single 2gb stick for a total of 3gbs in the 2 slots, if you have 1 stick of 2gbs then just a 1gb stick.
     
  6. TravisReynolds macrumors regular

    TravisReynolds

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    Go to http://www.macsales.com - I know that doesn't 100% answer your question, but for one its really cheap. Then also, they help you pick out which ram will work for your computer.
     
  7. MacTH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #7
    Because from what I`ve read it works best without problems when using 2 equal RAM sticks installed. 2+1 will be less fast and more prone to problems.
     

Share This Page