RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by forwarddrew, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. forwarddrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #1
    Hey I've got a 2.16GHz macbook. at the moment i use it for general surfing and recording live music (using logic studio (best £312 ever spent)). i currently have just 1Gb of ram but i was considering upgrading it to 4Gb. just wanting your advice on this and if you think its a good idea.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Is it running too slowly for you? If so, buy from OWC.
     
  3. cymrulp macrumors member

    cymrulp

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    Uk
    #3
    Ive just upgraded my macbook white 2.1Ghz and also use it for music, although I use a Line 6 toneport and Garageband.

    I bought 4GB RAM from Crucial and it was a breeze to install, takes about 10 mins and there are lots of vids on youtube to show how to do it.

    Ive noticed a big improvement in performance, when using finder and mixing and converting tracks in garageband, id definately recommend the upgrade.

    I also got a 320GB HDD and that was just as easy to install.
     
  4. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #4
    upgrading from 1 GB will be a huge gain. especially when you're using logic studio. do it now!
     
  5. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #5
    According to crucial.com, the 2.16 GHz MacBooks can handle only 2 GB RAM. If the OP were to upgrade to 4 GB, would it even be able to use it all?
     
  6. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #6
    They can use 3.3 max; 2x2gb will give the advantage of dual channel.
     
  7. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #7
    I have 4GB and a 7200rpm HDD in my macbook... same processor as yours. Big boost in performance with the hard drive, the extra RAM enables multiple apps open.

    For web development I often need Photoshop, dreamweaver, flash, transmit, a couple web browsers, iPhoto, and quicktime open at the same time. The extra RAM helps minimize the disk access.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. therealdt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    northeast region
    #8
    I have a WB waiting for me, and I ordered another 2GB. I find this to be sufficient enough for me. I went to Newegg, shipping was free.
    I have heard like the other poster said, you're only going to use 3.3GB. So either max it out or just go for the 2GB.
     
  9. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #9
    Ah okay. That makes sense. Thanks for the clarification. (Still fairly new to Macs here.)
     

Share This Page