RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bate8473, Jul 5, 2009.

  1. bate8473 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #1
    So I am looking to upgrade my RAM, currently i have a 15" MBP with 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 gb, 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM.

    I'm looking to double up my ram, and have been looking at http://www.macmemory.com/macbook.asp?gclid=CKyqr5GBwJsCFQ_yDAodXBx_Aw

    I need to use the silver bezel ram upgrade, but do not know which route would be better to go. Is my laptop able to use a 2x module or just the single. I'm looking to purchase the 4 gb and would like to use the 2x mod because it is far cheaper but after looking around do not know if the 2x mod would work.

    Any help as to if the 2x would work, and if that is the route to go, or do i have to splurge and go for the single. Also which works better would be amazing too

    :D

    Thank you in advance to all comments
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    2x2GB would be best option. Head over to Crucial for you Mac RAM needs. They have easy guide in determining which RAM modules you need.
     
  3. bate8473 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #3
    sweet, thanks for the information. i looked at the following link,

    http://www.crucial.com/store/listpa...l Core Duo (15.4-inch)&pl=MacBook Pro&cat=RAM


    to the right in a gray box it says, "Each memory slot can hold DDR2 PC2-5300 with a maximum of 1GB per slot.*"

    *Not to exceed manufacturer supported memory.



    does this mean i cant get the 4 gigs of ram im looking for
     
  4. unixufan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto,ON
    #4
  5. bate8473 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #5
  6. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #6
    Pretty sure the chipset on those models doesn't support 2x2GB. It's Intel's fault, not Apple's. I think it might be able to do 1x1GB+1x2GB, but you loose dual channel on the last GB that way.
     
  7. cpnotebook80 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    I bought the crucial 4 gb from newegg and installed it and everything worked fine.Price was $98cdn incl.
    I notice my geekbench score didnt change much.
    But so far its ok.
     
  8. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #8
    In my experience Crucial jacks up the price of their "Mac" RAM to crazy sums. I always go over to Newegg and buy the "regular" Cruical RAM kits. They are much less expensive and work just a good as the "Mac" labeled sticks.
     
  9. Donz0r macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #9
  10. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #10
    I've had that model, it will take 2 two gig sticks. It will only use 3.2 or 3.3 gigs, but ddr 2 ram is dirt cheap, and the dual channel mode can make a difference if you're doing something intensive.

    Oh, and throw in a faster/bigger replacement hard drive...that probably made more of a difference than anything else.
     
  11. yaroldb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    #11
    Yep, I have that running on my UniMacbook pro. I got mine in Feb 2009. The ram runs like a champ. No problems at all.
     
  12. bate8473 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #12
  13. insignificantMB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Lakers!
    #13
    I just got my crucial ram today.
    Does apple help you install it for free?
    I don't want to screw something up, cause I have some hw in my computer.

    If not, is there a guide to install it?
    Thanks.
     
  14. insignificantMB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Lakers!
    #14
    NVM looks easy online, anyone know if it voids the warranty? I have the 3 yr applecare.
     
  15. electroshock macrumors 6502a

    electroshock

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #15
  16. insignificantMB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Lakers!
    #16
    I stripped my screwdriver trying to remove the back middle screw...
    Is that common, it is eff hard to get it off.

    Where can I get a good 00 phillips head screwdriver.
     
  17. bate8473 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #17
    Still looking for some help, I bought 2x2 ram kit from newegg (the one posted by a member here), and it was the wrong kind. Can someone tell me what pin the memory needs to be. The existing ram in my mbp doesn't have the pin # on it
     
  18. esspee1200 macrumors newbie

    esspee1200

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #18

Share This Page