RAM with Lion in MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sdahe, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. Sdahe macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a 15" unibody Macbook Pro with 4GB and recently installed Lion... I'm seeing that my computer is getting kind of slow. Do I need to get 4GB more of RAM... make it 8GB?... it's getting kind of slow when working in Photoshop.

    Where can I buy the RAM?... good ones.

    Thanks
     
  2. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #2
    Photoshop can me RAM intensive, so more could help a lot.
    http://www.newegg.com/Special/ShellShocker.aspx?cm_sp=ShellShocker-_-20-231-565-_-03142012_2

    This is a crazy deal and think about getting 16GB if you can because it's so cheap
     
  3. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #3
  4. ZZ Bottom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Yes photoshop consumes ram like a frat boy drinks beer. I was working on a poster print (24"x36" 300dpi) this evening and photoshop used over 41gb in swap file (using HD for "ram") before erroring due to insufficient space. I promptly changed my secondary drive as swap scratch disk.
     
  5. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  6. ryannel2003 macrumors 68000

    ryannel2003

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    #6
    I'm a basic user but when I had 4GB of RAM in my 2009 Unibody MacBook it never paged out like my current MacBook Pro does. It seems like this computer needs more RAM so you don't have to worry about any pageouts. I'm assuming this is due to the graphics needing more RAM. It also doesn't help that Lion is a memory hungry OS in general.
     
  7. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #7
    I can max out my 16 GB of RAM using CS5.5 pretty easily so upgrading was a good call :)
     
  8. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #8
    I got my 8GB today from OWC and they are installed... so for it feels better and running smooth.

    Anyone else using this memory (OWC)... and can tell me your feedback.

    Another thing.. How can I know if the memory sticks are running OK?..
     
  9. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #9
    MemTest
     
  10. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #10
    Are you using OWC memory in your mac?
     
  11. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #11
    no but memtest will run test on any brand
     
  12. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #12
    Thanks!!!
     
  13. Sdahe, Mar 20, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012

    Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #13
    I dont know if its Lion but it doesn't feel as smooth as Snow Leopard... even with 8GB of RAM.

    But when connected to the AC.. the MBP feels very smooth
     
  14. blatopilot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #14
    Lion is weird with RAM. Mine came with 4GB which was fine with snow leopard. Just using the browser (no other apps open) and its using over 3GB.

    I can see how Photoshop would not work well. I'm thinking of upgrading soon...
     

Share This Page