Ram

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RebelScum, Aug 16, 2007.

  1. RebelScum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    OK, I should probably put it out there that I'm not unfamiliar with PC builds, having built more than my fair share of WinBoxes in my life. That being said:

    1) Where would be the best place to get a 2GB DIMM for the 2.8 24-inch iMac (preferably in Toronto)?

    2) Should I f!ck up and install the wrong kind of RAM, what's the worst that could happen? Will I void my warranty if I install something incorrectly, or use the wrong kind?

    I know these may sound like stupid questions, but it's not every day I drop $3k on a new toy, and with Apple's strict rules re. what you can and can not do with your own machine, I just feel better asking.
     
  2. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #2
    As long as it's PC5300 667MHz RAM, you'll be fine. If you're really feeling nervous about it, you might as well buy it from Apple.
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    If you buy from a site like Crucial (there's a link at the top of every page on MacRumors), just use their memory advisor tool and your guaranteed the right RAM with a good warranty. Plus, it's much cheaper than Apple's. :)
     
  4. maestrokev macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    You bring up a good point, I'm no stranger to PC upgrades but when I added RAM into my MacBook, not sure if it's just my model, but I had to push a lot harder than I like on the SODIMM to get it in, took several tries. Never ran into that tight of a design before.

    I hope the iMacs are easier to upgrade, hate to crack a board.
     
  5. johnmcboston macrumors 6502

    johnmcboston

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Funny, Crucial's "Memory Advisor" still doesn't have 2GB DIMMs (although they are sold, you have to look for them by hand). I just went with owc (macsales.com, or directly at http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/iMac_Core_2_Duo/DDR2/)

    I looked up the page to put the link here, and the 4GB kit is $40 more than I paid for it last week. (The Techworks 4GB is $60 more!) Do memory prices flux that much, or might the new imacs be pushing up the demand?
     
  6. lalutte macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #6
    I just bought 2x 2GB Kingston ValueRam from PC Village for $129.95 each (http://www.pcvonline.com/productDetails.aspx?id=5786). Mine appear to have Micron chips (same as Crucial). My new 24" should arrive today, so I'll post what I find. If you want to go with Mac specific RAM, I'd suggest ordering from www.canadaram.com. I have a couple of friends that swear by them.

    BTW - the PVC location on Yonge south of Bloor had to have my memory transferred in for me, so I'd call first.
     
  7. mothergoose45 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    #7
    I ordered last Tues. from macsales.com. I paid $229 for 2x2gb. (Glad I ordered then and not now with the price jump) I ordered the OCW ram and received Techworks ram. $234 shipped. It has the Micron symbol on it, same as Apple. It is now installed in my 2.4 24" Imac and runs great! The 2.4 is fast. Even with 10 windows and apps going at one time the memory flies. So far its great ram.
     
  8. RebelScum thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    Thanks for the heads up Scarlet; yes, buying direct from Apple is always an option, however one I would like to avoid fo rthe following reasons:

    1) $117.99 - Kingston ValueRAM 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Notebook Memory (KVR667D2S5/2G) (The iMacs take notebook memory, right?) (http://canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=014495&cid=RAM.187)

    2) $550.00 - Apple Memory Module 2GB 667MHz DDR2 (PC2-5300) - 1x2GB SO-DIMM (ROBBERY) (http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/canadastore.woa/wa/RSLID?nclm=9AED2EE7)

    So for about 20% of the price, I can get the RAM I need pretty much anywhere. No way in HELL am I adding an extra $550 to my already-overpriced computer system.

    Thanks everyone...now that I know that any 200-pin SO-DIMM with those specs will do, now I guess I just need to figure out which is of the best quality for the best price. Any thoughts on that??

    Also, regarding my 2nd original question...anyone know what the effects are on the warranty, if any, if you decide to install your own OEM RAM?
     
  9. RebelScum thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    Something irritating...

    I just noticed something very irritating...the iMac I want (24-inch 2.8) does not ship with 1 2GB DIMM...it ships with 2x1GB SO-DIMMs. Which means that if I want to max out my RAM, I still need to buy 2x2GB elsewhere and not add to but REPLACE what came with my machine. FRUSTRATING...

    Does anyone know if there' s a way to specify what kid of DIMM is installed when the machine is shipped??? Can you request a single 2GB SO-DIMM from the manufacturer??
     
  10. GNice macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #10
    Recently purchased 2GB SODIMM I bought from OWC at macsales.com for my new iMac. Great price, quick shipping, and no problems. (knock on wood)
     
  11. DaveP macrumors 6502

    DaveP

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    #11
    To shed some light on your second question...

    I had a repair done under warranty and they took out an additional stick I had in there and said that it had failed their memory tests and they wouldn't honor the warranty if it come back again with the same stick. The memory passed all the tests I put it through (Apple's and others) so I just put it back in and never had any problems.

    So I don't think you can get in any warranty problems. (Barring like breaking something by installing it with a hammer :p)
     
  12. slffl macrumors 65816

    slffl

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    Ya, get the 2.4ghz with 1GB RAM and then upgrade it to 2.8 and 500GB. That will save a bit. But you will still have to buy 2x2GB modules.
     
  13. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #13
    We have a Guide now, which answers a lot of questions on intel Mac RAM

    Personally, I shy away from the Kingston ValueRAM for Macs. It's good, generic RAM for PCs, but the design and build is subject to change without notice, and in the past there have been issues with Mac compatibility.
     
  14. Toronto1970 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #14
    I bought 1x2GB of Kingston RAM from the downtown Toronto PC Village location and put it into my new iMac last night, and so far so good! (I have the 2.8Ghz 24", ordered as the base system with the CPU and HD upgraded, but with only 1GB RAM installed).

    The guy at PV Village told me that he's had quite a few people come in this week to order this RAM for their new iMacs!
     
  15. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #15
    I can't speak to places locally in Toronto, but if you do not mind ordering online, I strongly recommend CanadaRAM being that you are in Canada. Your machine has 1x1Gb modules in it right now so you'd probably want to go for 2x2 Gb modules eventually.

    Thanks CanadaRAM, I wasn't aware that an offical guide had been set up. Looks very informative and comprehensive. I'll make sure to link to it in future RAM threads I come across. :cool:
     

Share This Page