Ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by OMAN9520, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #2
    I know many people have had great success using newegg.com. I have yet to hear any complaints about them.
     
  2. latestmonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    #3
  3. MacBookJoePro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #4
    Either option should be good. Even the one latestmonkey suggested would be good too. Newegg tends to ship things pretty fast and promptly. I'm not entire sure about the other website but I heard its not too bad. If you talking about compatibility then any one of those rams will work fine in your MBP.

    -JoE
     
  4. latestmonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    #5

    I like newegg. they're pretty good as a retailer.

    Anyway, does anyone know the difference between the two new egg ram modules except one says "Apple" on the box? The one that doesn't is $20 cheaper.
     
  5. cdd543 macrumors 6502

    cdd543

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Denver
    #6
  6. OMAN9520 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #7
    Do you have to do anything after you switch the ram (e.g. install anything)

    When you switch RAM do you lose anything off your computer?
     
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    No, changing RAM will not lose any data. However, it's ALWAYS a good idea to back up your important data before taking a screwdriver to any machine.

    The Mac will automatically sense the new RAM, you don't have to do anything else.
    Answers to many commonly asked questions are under the Guides tab at the top of this window.

    See MR Guide to Buying RAM
    MR Guide to Installing RAM

    My preference is to stick with a reputable seller who knows Macs and offers a no-cost (no shipping, no restocking fee) return if it doesn't work. Check Data Memory Systems as well.
     
  8. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #9
    You won't loose anything and don't have to install anything extra.
     
  9. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #11
    any ddr2 667 mhz ram with 200 pins works fine
     
  10. Pukey macrumors 6502

    Pukey

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Gekkostate
    #12
    Hey, would you guys recommend Newegg over Crucial or are they both pretty much the same?
     
  11. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #13
    They are pretty much the same for security but shop around there are deals to be had.
     
  12. OMAN9520 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #14
    would you guys recommend upgrading to 4 gigs, will it make a big difference?
     
  13. Pukey macrumors 6502

    Pukey

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Gekkostate
    #15
    Ok, thanks Techguy! Will do.
     
  14. Pukey macrumors 6502

    Pukey

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Gekkostate
    #16
    Good question. I think it depends mostly on what you're doing. I'm not absolutely sure myself, but I would guess if you're doing lots of 3D rendering or playing some real graphic intensive games it could help. There are probably lots of other uses for extra RAM too.
    Anyone else?
     
  15. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #17
    4 gigs is pretty cheap these days if you shop around..honestly why not if you plan on keeping it for a while. Right now, 2 gigs is really the standard. In a couple years, 4 gigs likely will be...and you'd be set.
     

Share This Page