Rammed my head into the wall!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by blkmac, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. blkmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #1
    In my frustration (two hours of reading threads and posts!!!) I have come to my last resort... creating a new thread. I just recently ordered a MBP and like everything I own I can't keep it stock. I'm looking at replacing the ram but don't understand how to pick the right one. I know the new MBP are 1600 MHz, but I'm having trouble picking the right one as I really don't want to deal with mailing back returns and waiting. So I essentially have three questions:

    1. Will any ram matching these specs work:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231582

    2. What ram or suggestions do you suggest?

    :confused: :confused: :confused:

    PS: I know 16 GB isn't necessary, but I figure I might as well max it out. Also, fwiw I have ordered an Intel 330 240GB SSD that will be installed once the mac gets here.
     
  2. sydenham macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #2
    Yes it will work. The reccomended ram is supposed to be 1.35v however most people have luck with 1.5 variants. For the sake of saving yourself a hassle pay 20 dollars more and pick up some Corsair at Frys. That is if you have one local to you....
     
  3. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #3
    that RAM will work
     
  4. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Looks like that RAM has a couple of good reviews from Mac users. That's probably the first place I'd be looking. Corsair and Crucial make good memory too.
     
  5. blkmac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #5
    Thanks for the speedy replies.

    Never even considered Fry's. I'll head there and pick one up. Thanks.

    One question, is Corsair considerable better or is it just the convenience factor?
     
  6. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
  7. Mabyboi macrumors 6502

    Mabyboi

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7
    I love all my corsair products, ram Included.
     
  8. bobcan macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #8
  9. blkmac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #9
    Is mushkin a reliable brand? Never heard of it. Also does CAS Latency 11 make a difference from CAS 9.
     
  10. bobcan macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #11
    Mushkin is absolutely Very Reliable.. they have been around for many years, and are located in Denver, CO area.. Made in the USA baby!! ** says the Canadian!! :D

    http://www.mushkin.com/About-Us.aspx

    What your computer should likely have in it, according to the 'RAM Calculator' on their page:

    http://www.mushkin.com/Memory/Essentials/997038.aspx

    ** All I can honestly say is that I am 'led to believe' the CL9 vs CL11 will not be as noticeable as going down to a slower RAM speed (mine could take 1333/10,600) and the 'PC3L' designation is for Low Voltage (1.35v) which the MBP's are designed for, as opposed to 1.5volt.. :apple:

    Mine works great, all I can tell you from experience.. Sorry!!
     
  11. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    Mushkin is good, Corsair is good. CAS 9 should be faster than CAS 11, but on a Mac they may both be running at the slower speed anyway.

    Just watch for sales at Fry's. I bought some Crucial RAM for my mid 2009 MacBook Pro there a few months ago and it ended up being cheaper than Amazon or Newegg.
     
  12. AzN1337c0d3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    #13
    What year Mac do you have? Don't the newer models use DDR3L RAM?
     
  13. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    As far as I know, that is only the rMBP.

    *edit* Nevermind, that just indicates it runs at 1.35v instead of 1.5v. The new MBP will accept both.
     
  14. nitromac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    US
    #15
  15. Badrottie Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #16
    how THICK is your head? Did you break the wall? Picture? :apple:
     
  16. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #17
    If you're not running out of RAM at the moment, you're throwing money away at the wall along with your head, you know?
     
  17. wiznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #18
    Crucial.

    Plus, they make it easy by having a selector, to make sure you pick the right RAM for your system: www.crucial.com

    Use the Crucial memory advisor tool, on the page that opens.
     

Share This Page