Ran main menu and now my keychain is gone

ChrisAbalos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 27, 2005
15
0
Michigan
Today I ran the application MainMenu and now my keychain is gone. Im not really upset about the passwords being gone, but now i cant make another keychain at all. When i run keychain first aid it gives me this error when i verify:
"Error: login keychain not found
Unable to get info for ~/Library/Keychains/login.keychain, reason: No such file or directory"

And when i repair it gives me this error:
"Error: login keychain not found
Repair terminated unexpectedly"

if i try to make a new keychain it says "error occoured while trying to make a new keychain"

I have no idea what to do, any ideas?
 

Mitthrawnuruodo

Moderator emeritus
Mar 10, 2004
13,813
183
Bergen, Norway
If you use Finder and navigate to ~/Library/Keychains/ (where ~/ is your users home folder) is the login.keychain file actually in there or is it gone?

Also, you said you ran MainMenu, excactly what were you doing, just starting it up, trying to Authorize it with the authorizing script or running any of the maintenance tasks?

Edit: Just ignore me and listen to the developer... :D
 
Comment

ChrisAbalos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 27, 2005
15
0
Michigan
Ok, i seemed to have fixed the problem. Although im not so sure it was mainmenu. I dont know what else it would have been though because it happened right after i used it and no other applications were running. Heres what happened: (btw, it was mainmenu 1.4.4 and im on tiger 10.4.2)

I ran spotlight and did a search for .keychain files.... it found a file named login_renamed.keychain in the trash. At first i tried putting back into user/library/keychains, but that didnt work... it wasnt until i renamed it back to login.keychain and put it into the system/library/keychain folder that it worked. I then was able to run a repair on the keychain and my login.keychain file in my user/librar/keychain appered again.

Like i said, i have no idea if mainmenu is capable of doing somthing like this out of error or not. I do know for sure that it wasnt anything i did and that it had to have been an OS error or an application that did it. I figured i would pass the info along.

I really like mainmenu though, im kinda hoping that it wasnt mainmenu that caused this..
 
Comment

rakka

macrumors newbie
Jul 29, 2005
6
0
Glad its fine now.

Could you explain which tasks were run, prior to this happening?

Did you cancel a required restart, by any chance?

Thanks.
 
Comment

ChrisAbalos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 27, 2005
15
0
Michigan
i cant recall exactly what all i ran, but come to think of it, i may not have did the restart. I think i clicked the "restart later" because i was gonna run more stuff then restart after everything was ran. I may not have remembered to restart after that. Would that have an effect like this?

if i had to guess what i ran it would be the following:
Disk permissions
Clean Logs
All of the clean caches
 
Comment

rakka

macrumors newbie
Jul 29, 2005
6
0
ChrisAbalos said:
i cant recall exactly what all i ran, but come to think of it, i may not have did the restart. I think i clicked the "restart later" because i was gonna run more stuff then restart after everything was ran. I may not have remembered to restart after that. Would that have an effect like this?

if i had to guess what i ran it would be the following:
Disk permissions
Clean Logs
All of the clean caches
Yes, that might happen. That's why it states that it is highly recommended that you restart when required. :) Someone just requested that a "cancel" button be implemented, and I added it.

So if you follow my advice, and restart when MainMenu suggests to, you should have no problems.

Thanks a lot.
 
Comment

Similar threads

  • EpicEsquire
6
Replies
6
Views
656
Replies
4
Views
469
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.