Random beta message on iPhone 6plus

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by franmatt80, Jan 17, 2016.

  1. franmatt80 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #1
    I signed up to be part of the public beta on my iPhone 6 Plus. I then gave my phone to my husband and restored it to factory settings, removed iCloud ac etc and he set it up as his phone. Every time he wakes the phone up he gets a pop up box on screen saying "A new iOS update is available. Please update from the beta".

    Can anyone advise on how to get rid of this? He's not part of the beta programme.
     
  2. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #2
    Check out the profiles in settings and delete the beta profile
     
  3. franmatt80 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #3

    There is no beta profile - that's why I'm a bit baffled....
     
  4. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #4
    try clearing Safari History and Website data...
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    What iOS version is in the phone right now?
     
  6. franmatt80 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #6
    It's on the latest iOS 9.2 - all up to date. Have tried clearing Safari etc but the phone was restored as new so don't think it can be that?

    Thanks for your help everyone...
     
  7. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #7
    So definitely not 9.2.1 (or 9.3) that is on it?

    And definitely no profiles of any kind installed?
     
  8. franmatt80 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #8
    Definitely that OS and definitely no profiles. I can't think what else it would be? Grrrrr.
     
  9. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #9
    That's certainly odd. I'd try maybe resetting some settings to see if that might help, like at least network settings if not probably all settings.
     
  10. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #10
    Well...if you can't beat them, join them.....I am right now on 9.3...and I must admit.....works perfectly :)
     
  11. franmatt80 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #11
    Tried resetting all settings, still no joy. Just downloading the beta software now to see if getting on board with the beta gets rid of the message. So annoying!

    Thanks for your help.
     
  12. HopefulHumanist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #12
    The update may be downloaded already. Check your storage usage and remove the beta update if present.
     
  13. franmatt80 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #13
    Solved it in the end by just sticking him in to the beta programme. Oh well. A mystery. Thanks for your help all.
     

Share This Page