Random Device Showing Up In My Network

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rossgumbrell, May 31, 2008.

  1. rossgumbrell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Hove, South East England
    #1
    Right, it seems this has come out of the blue. Im wondering if anyone can help me.

    We have a wireless network in the house (Netgear DG834N) with the following devices connected to the network (as of typing this):

    1 x iMac
    2 x Macbooks

    Im using a macbook myself, it shows the other macbook and the imac in the 'shared items' in the finder sidebar.

    However, recently its been showing:

    a 'PC server' named: mac001ff354bb00

    our wireless network is password protected and secure. im curious as to what this item is???? anyone?? Is someone hacking?

    We live in a suburb (only around 5 house may be able to see our network as its draft-N), and still had this random device showing up when we had a Netgear DG834G.

    On a side note. We have a few other things in the house which are wireless enabled but NOT connected (or even switched on for that matter...):

    Another iMac
    2 x PBG4
    2 x Ipod Touches
    2 x Sony Vaio's
    1 x advent desktop
    3 x sonos systems
    1 x sonos controller
    1 x PSP
    1 x Xbox 360.
     
  2. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #2
    What you are seeing is your neighbor(s) pc's etc. that are within range of your wireless router. Apparently even though your network is secure, theirs are not. You may want to let them know. It is nothing to worry about on your end, but on their end it should be cause for alarm.
     
  3. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #3
    Sorry I left out something.

    Your other devices (even though they are off) are probably cached. You can download OnyX (a free maintenance utility) and clear all of your caches, but one you power them back on, they probably will be cached again.

    Again, this is nothing to worry about.
     
  4. rossgumbrell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Hove, South East England
    #4
    but a computer has to *connect* to a network for it to show up in shared item list?
     
  5. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    Not necessarily. If the other computer has sharing turned on you will see it but not be able to connect to it unless they have some kind of file sharing turned on and it's not password protected.
     
  6. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #6
    Not necessarily. Your router is on an ISP network. If your neighbor is using the same ISP and his router is not secure and he has some sort of file sharing enabled, your router will detect the presence and forward that to your Mac.
     
  7. rossgumbrell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Hove, South East England
    #7
    On further investigation after setting the router up with a MAC address access list i noticed that the random device has the same MAC address as my mum's new 24" iMac although it shows up along side this in the 'shared' sidebar.

    Its showing up as a 'PC Server' and sometime its there when shes connected to the network, sometimes its not. Though we have noticed that when this 'PC server device' is connected to the network, the whole network crawls along very slowly and her iMac isnt even able to load up any web pages (using safari) or connect to any other computers for filesharing or vice versa.

    Could this possibly be a new breed of Virus/Trojan thats come through!? :confused:

    :apple::apple::apple:
     
  8. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #8
    Sorry, I think you're wrong here.

    The router will act as a firewall, it will also be his NAT server, his computers will be on a local subnet IP addresses e.g. 192.168.1.xxx

    I find it highly unlikely that any computer that's not in his local subnet would show up as shared in the sidebar.

    OP try;

    Disconnect the WAN cable and see if it still shows up.

    Have you tried clicking on the PC Server share?
     
  9. rossgumbrell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Hove, South East England
    #9
    Yeah, i thought it sounded a bit unlikely. Also, we are using an ISP that is mainly used for commercial properties and not residential. This is because i spent 9 months working in the south coasts (England) leading Apple Premium Reseller, who had a sub company who supply internet. Got the internet for 1/2 price as i worked there.

    I have tried disconnecting all the cables from the router, hard re-set the router, and upgraded the firmware on it. All with no luck. Its deffo to do with the iMac.

    Ive connected as a guest to the device and tried connecting using my mums login to it but with no luck. Though looking back, i used her full name and not her short name to connect to it, maybe why thats why i couldnt connect. I will try with her short name when it appears again, as of right now, its not showing up, only her iMac is.

    When connected as a Guest, no files or folders are shown in the device and i am unable to drag any files into it.

    Side note: NO computers in the house are set up to use Boot Camp or any kind of those programs (Parallels etc).

    :apple::apple::apple:
     
  10. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #10
    I have the same thing showing up in my finder. When I click on it and connect to it, it is my own computer. This is probably your case.
     
  11. angawi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    #11
    I recently had the same (or similar issue). I have an iMac G5 and out of the blue a device named PowerMac with a MAC address after it started showing up. It was similar to my address and I thought I'd seen it before.
    Anyways, turns out that it is the Ethernet MAC (I'm connected via Airport).
    So, I went to Sharing in the System Preferences and noticed that my computer name had been changed to blank. So I just put back my old computer name and it solved it.
     

Share This Page