Random OS X Tips

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Relentlos, Aug 6, 2010.

1. Relentlos macrumors member

Relentlos

What random tips do you have for OS X users? I've been using OS X since late 2006 and have learned a lot, but there's always something new here and there. Maybe you know of something or do something a certain way that others may just never have thought of.

I'll start.

Finder
    Here's a section of my main finder window:
    [​IMG]

"Files" is a folder I made within my user directory to store all documents, photos, and any other files. If I want to do a clean install, I simply copy that one folder, which grabs all but my iTunes library which sits in it's default spot.

"Apps" is a folder I made with aliases to the main applications folder, and the most frequently used apps that aren't in the dock. I like to keep the dock somewhat small. If necessary, I can go to the main apps folder to look for a program that is hardly used.

"Maintenance" as you can see is just things to monitor, backup, or edit stuff on the mac. I like having it all in 1 place.

Internet
    I use Safari since I don't require anything fancy for my browsing requirements. I couldn't find a home page I liked, so I simply made one myself, which most people probably wouldn't think of. Just a background with links to certain sites.

I have my bookmarks organized a certain way too. Within the "Bookmark Toolbar" are folders rather than book marks. Within the folders, are bookmarks to sites.
    One is named "Archive" where I'll save random things here and there,
    "Wallpapers" for any site with wallpapers,
    "Sites" for places like this,
    "Resources" which are mostly tools or information sites like speedtest.net.

Apps