Random RAID 0 Question...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Stridder44, May 11, 2008.

  1. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #1
    So I had no idea where to post this, but I have a friend who wants to do RAID 0 to his 2 HDDs (yes, they're identical). I've built and maintained many computers for friends/family/etc. but I've never set up RAID 0 before. This would be with Vista Ultimate x64. Is it just going into BIOS, changing it to RAID, and "voila!"?
     
  2. jb60606 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    You need to be sure that the system's motherboard has RAID hardware/capabilities to begin with. Most newer OEM motherboards have them.

    Once you can confirm that, then it is basically just a BIOS adjustment needed. You'll lose all data on both hard drives during the initial RAID setup.

    If it doesn't have RAID on board, you could purchase a cheap RAID card off of Newegg.
     
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Also be aware that creating a RAID array, even just RAID 0 mirroring, will normally wipe the drives...
     
  4. Stridder44 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
    The motherboard is maybe 2 years old (a little less), so I'm pretty sure it does. I'm assuming Vista will see just one drive (even though it's the 2 of them RAIDed together)?
     
  5. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #5
    RAID 1 is mirroring. RAID 0 is stripped.

    If you are setting up a RAID 0 array be aware that if one drive fails you will lose all the data on both drives. You will need a third drive for backup purposes. Normally RAID 0 is only used for those with specific need of the speed advantage it provides and that have other more reliable backup methods.
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Sorry, my mistake. I just assumed the OP wanted mirroring for the reasons you pointed out :)
     
  7. Stridder44 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I've read that getting a RAID controller is better/more stable than just plugging them both straight into the motherboard. True/False?
     

Share This Page