rank the macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by adityaraj, May 9, 2007.

  1. adityaraj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    #1
    hey
    i m still into the process of buying a notebook for me. i m completely fascinated my the black macbook and i m almost on the brim to buy it but the only thing that's bothering me is macbook doesn't contain a pci card slot and tuner card, quick play buttons but on the other hand the HP dv2213tx has all that. i wud just want u guys to help me out in distinguishing so that i go for a right decision. my purpose is to work on graphic designing a animation, good entertainment also with a better interface.
     
  2. pdra05 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne City, VIC, Australia
    #2
    If you have a limited budget that you can spend on a new notebook, try and maximize the RAM in the blackbook.. Otherwise I'd say go for a MBP. Hope that helps :p
     
  3. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #3
    What is a 'quick play' button?
     
  4. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #4
    I peronally never have used a quick play button (as in the little buttons around keyboards?).

    tuner card? Im not following you.

    do you have a specific need for a pci card? most things are done by usb anyways.

    what software will you be using? is the environment you'll be working in mac friendly?
     
  5. adityaraj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    #5
    re to the 3 replied post respectively

    1> MBP the lower end or the higher end version
    if upgrade the RAM to an additional to 1gb?

    3> i meant the tv tuner card which comes with hp notebooks.
    yeah the enviornment is perfect for mac.
     
  6. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    You want 2GB RAM. Seriously, you can get 2x1GB (2GB total) for like $50 total these days. Not worth going any lower.

    There are lots of TV tuners (Elgato and Migla come to mind) for Mac that work very well.
     
  7. pdra05 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne City, VIC, Australia
    #7
    Go for the higher end (15-inch if portability is important to you). 2GB's of RAM should be good enough for now, if not you can always get another extra gig @ crucial.com .
     
  8. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
  9. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #9
    2 gigs is where it's at

    you won't need the quick play buttons, they just clutter up the notebook IMO

    pci card? never use em, at least on my other Mac

    TV tuner? ya that would be nice, not gonna get that on a Mac though...
     
  10. szsiddiq macrumors 6502

    szsiddiq

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #10
    things like Quicksilver and YouControl Tunes easily remedy any need for quick play buttons.
     
  11. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #11
    use the apple remote as quickplay buttons, much better than them being on the laptop, cos you can still control it from across the room too.
     
  12. mgargan1 macrumors 65816

    mgargan1

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    #12
    I don't know for sure, but doesn't the Macbook come with a remote?
     
  13. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #13
    yup!
     
  14. adityaraj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
  15. jellomizer macrumors 6502

    jellomizer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #15
    What device do you plan to plug into the PCI Slot?

    Do you really plan on on plugging in a wired TV connection to your laptop just to watch TV on a 12" screen, perhaps record too.

    The OS interface is designed in such a way you really dont need a quick play button. (Which tend to not work on the PC's Half the time anyways, unless you use Crappy Software)

    It sounds like you want a desktop more then a laptop.
    But PCI or PCMCI technology is quite old and most new stuff is less and less needing this. You can probably get a USB or Firewire device that fits your need. Same as with TV Tuners you can get a firewire based Tuner for cheap and you can unplug it when not in use saving extra weight from your laptop when you don't need it.

    On OS X there is an iTune widget for Dashboard where you hit F12 and click on play and there it goes. Also you have the Remote Control which works simular as well you hit the play button the remote and it plays music.

    But remember these are laptops they are really ment to run wirelessly not as a Portable PC.
     
  16. MaaseyRacer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    #16
    In the Mac world we call it the Spacebar.
     
  17. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #17
    lmao. but you do have to switch to itunes first. So its command+tab then spacebar.
     

Share This Page