Rant about Domains & .Mac

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by rhyndu, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. rhyndu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    A Planet Orbiting Sol!
    #1
    I have seen many many .Mac websites on personal domains (www.example.com). And all but 2 have been using frames to silently direct the user to their dot mac homepage. GRRRR!

    I'm not sure if it is just .Mac makes it easier to make websites for people who, unlike me, don't read A List Apart reguraly, or that it doesn't provide A-Records/NS Records for people but... seeing so many nice websites (with valid XHTML Transitional 1.0 code too) masked in frames just kills me.

    DON'T USE FRAMES! THEY ARE EEEEEVVVVVVVVVVVVIIIIIIIIIIIIIILLLLLLLLLL!
     
  2. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #2
    Are you talking about the feature that GoDaddy and other registrars offer where they'll "redirect" your domain to another URL (and mask that URL, making it appear that it's your domain)?
     
  3. rhyndu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    A Planet Orbiting Sol!
    #3
    God knows. I'm not sure if that is what people are using it... they shouldn't though. I didn't know about this...

    Its just I seem to see a lot more .Mac "one-frame" websites then anything other hosting provider.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Do you have an example, apart from example.com?
     
  5. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    Never mind. Looking at GoDaddy's help for that feature, it appears to use HTML redirects to accomplish that magic. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. rhyndu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    A Planet Orbiting Sol!
    #6
  7. DaveF macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NoVA
    #7
    How do you suggest people use personal domain names with a .Mac account, then? Does .Mac let you use your domain name in any other way but with the iframe hack? (If there's a better way, I'd love to know it so I can improve my wife's professional website.)
     
  8. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #8
    I used my personal website early on with .mac. I hated that they locked you into the www. domain as I have my own mail server and other subdomains. I wanted to keep www. on my own server and have a subdomain mac. that would load on the .mac web. I finally created a proxy server on my server and grabbed the .mac files behind the scenes then sent them back out. Since then I just export the iWeb files to my own server and serve them up myself. What I really hate is when you public an iWeb site to a folder it deletes everything in that folder and puts the new files in. I wish there was a smart update method or something so I don't have to keep putting my other files back in the site directory when done.
     
  9. rhyndu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    A Planet Orbiting Sol!
    #9
    Well... I always thought that Apple had this standard functionality. Apple doesn't give you NS Records to plugin?

    Yup. I've got a solution! There are two revolutionary programs avaliable now to take advantage of the new features 2.20Ghz, 64_bit proccesors with at least 8 GB of memory allow: vi/m and scp. These programs enable you to write, edit, and test* web applications with ease, security, and comfort, better allowing you to change the world. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page