RapidWeaver 7 is out

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by maflynn, May 24, 2016.

  1. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    I've long be a user of RW, though I my "love affair" with it has ebbed and flowed through out the years. My needs are humble and static web page creation suits me.

    I just got an email that RW 7 is out. I typically hold off on upgrading quickly with RW, because past major releases tended to be buggy, and I wait for X.1

    With that said, RW does seem to be the best out there for my needs, and now that RapidWeaver 7 is out I'll be checking it out.
     
  2. Steve-F macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Me too!
    Been using RapidWeaver since v3 and with all the plug-ins it's amazing the sites you can create. I'll also watch and wait a while before upgrading.
    Steve
     
  3. pondhopper macrumors member

    pondhopper

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Location:
    somewhere. out there.
    #3
    I downloaded today, and got an immediate notice to upgrade to 7. somethingoranother.

    RW loves us Beta testers, charging us loyal followers a hefty upgrade price to work out their bugs. Gotta love it.
     
  4. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    This is why I hold off; every major upgrade I see a lot of issues being reported in their forums.
     
  5. pondhopper macrumors member

    pondhopper

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Location:
    somewhere. out there.
    #5
    Me too. Watched the launch of 7 ....tick tock tick tock. Releases update the next day. I'd not be so mad at RW, but the loyalty to those who buy is a bit lukewarm. Especially when their stuff is half baked, right up to the next major release they are bug fixing. I AM tempted by this one though, especially if FTP is rolling with some speed.
     
  6. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    It does look nice, though the price of the upgrade seems a bit steep, especially given the fact that they've had this in bundles in the past, where you bought a bundle and it included RW for like 40 bucks for the entire bundle.

    I think the shrinking market base for this sort of product may be pushing the price up more, i.e., less demand. Looking at their forums, the complaints of bugs seem to be less then that of prior versions.
    --- Post Merged, May 29, 2016 ---
    I just looked up the old upgrade cost, and that was 39 for RW6 vs. 59 for RW7. Seems a bit excessive.
     
  7. Benjamin Frost Suspended

    Benjamin Frost

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    I got RW6 for $10 in a bundle, so the upgrade is particularly expensive relatively speaking!

    One shouldn't complain, I suppose.
     
  8. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I've been using RW since version 3, and I think they're doing a disservice, by treating their loyal customers this way, i.e., increase in the price. I know I'm free to not buy the upgrade and I'll probably hold off until such time that I see a bundle that is closer to the price point I'm willing to pay.

    The feature list of version 7 has some nice improvements but its generally not a huge upgrade, its an incremental improvement, so that also increases the pain, i.e., polishing and workflow improvements but the upgrade price is excessive.
     
  9. Benjamin Frost Suspended

    Benjamin Frost

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    And if RW7 gets featured in another bundle for a ludicrously low price, it's like a slap in the face for those loyal supporters who pay the full or upgrade price.

    One wonders at the business model of these developers sometimes. In my opinion, they should keep the upgrade price to about a quarter of the full price. Otherwise, people simply hold off upgrading and skip two or five versions.

    And please don't go the subscription route. I use Sibelius, a music composition programme, and they have recently done a semi-switch to a sub model. It's incredibly confusing and reprehensible. I will never subscribe to software.
     
  10. Shmoo macrumors regular

    Shmoo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    #10
    Thats the reason why I hate this company.

    They try to sell a 99,- app while this app is worth about 2,50 to themselves. They have ZERO respect for the app code they produce and/or the people that buy it.
     
  11. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    Short of hand coding in Coda, what other options are there? I'm content to sit on version 6 until I see version 7 hit the bundles.

    I know there's Sandvox, but that doesn't seem to be updated in a major way for several years.
     
  12. Shmoo macrumors regular

    Shmoo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    #12
    It's difficult to example why, but Blocs app is by far the best easy to use website builder for Mac.

    http://blocsapp.com

    If I couldn't write code myself I would pick this app 1000 times above any other because this roots to the same frameworks we developers use when creating sites.

    When I or any other developer would create a site we all create some sort of grid based on rows and columns to help us create some structure in the page layout. Every developer does this.

    Look at my picture below. If you look at content on screen like this you're 70% done with web development because when your screen becomes smaller (iPhones) you are going the stack the blue, and both orange columns underneath each other instead of next to each other.
    [​IMG]

    Seeing those lines is most of what web development is all about.
    If you can't create those 'blocs' yourself, you should use the Blocs app because that's what Blocs does. You start with some grid, rows and choose your columns layout. When this is set. You are going to fill those columns ( content blocs ) with your own content, give it your text, colors, gradients, change the background or whatever. Make those content blocs pretty like you want them to be.

    Press save or publish and the app generates better code, based on frameworks we also use and you probably have less chance of messing things up when switching between mobile, tablet and desktop views.

    Give it a fair try, it's a little different approach from the so called iWeb apps from the early days where you could simply start with a blanc canvas and just draw and paint everywhere on screen. That's not how you should work those days, those columns and content blocs are so important.
     
  13. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    Thanks for the info on the Blocs app. I'll check them out. At this point, I'd rather focus on content instead of coding of that makes sense. Its for my personal sites.
     
  14. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #14
    I can't believe there is a still market for this kind of apps, building websites is such an early 2000s things. Its all about your "profiles" now on Social Media, no one visit websites any more. Especially with free services like Weebly.

    You might think $100 is steep but remember this is a very niche market now, if the developers don't see it commercially profitable they go building other apps like $1 images filters on iOS.
     
  15. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #15
    Perhaps, but what I find galling is that they charge the early responders a premium in terms of the upgrade price and then turn around in a few months and put the product in a bundle for 20 or 30 bucks. So while I agree with you, that this product is a very niche type application, the vendor's own actions of charging loyal customers a premium but later, new customers a significant savings.

    The changes in version 7 are not that large, it appears to have some nice improvements in the work flow, and UI, nothing major. I can keep using version 6 until I see version 7 in the bundles.
     
  16. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #16
    I understand your frustration, I guess its like Parallels. I would still pay the $100 given how often I use the product and to show support to the team. I have to wonder how many paying customers do they really have, the more the less they can charge. The less customers the more they have to charge.
     
  17. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #17
    Good point, I don't use Parallels but yes, I'd say that's exactly the same issue. Since RapidWeaver is more of a niche app, I guess I just assumed that they'd want to treat their loyal customers a bit better but at the end of the day, its just a business. They need to make money and grow the platform, and they decided how that's going to occur.

    I'll forego the upgrade at this time, I'm looking at the blocs app, and I'm really like how its working. I may switch over to that for my humble little projects.
     
  18. Dranix macrumors 6502a

    Dranix

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Gelnhausen, Germany
    #18
    I like Sparkle a lot: http://sparkle.cx
     
  19. pondhopper macrumors member

    pondhopper

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Location:
    somewhere. out there.
    #19
    And don't forget the developers who make plug-ins for the app. By the time you are done, may as well buy some Adobe crap.
    Honestly, the only reason I stick around, is the relatively easy learning curve, and ability to quickly catch a good snippit, or plug in that makes my job easier.
    Rapidweaver is just a base program for others to make code for and sell...like Joe Workman.
     
  20. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #20
    Not just plugins, but also themes. While version 7 seems to be a minor upgrade to which themes shouldn't break, that's not always been the case. Unlike plug-ins, however, it seems once someone creates a theme, they usually don't keep maintaining it.
     
  21. pondhopper macrumors member

    pondhopper

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Location:
    somewhere. out there.
    #21
    Yeah, I was too lazy to write themes (heh-heh). The 3rd party support is the only reason I even use it anymore.
     
  22. cool11 macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #22
    Is it possible to build dynamic sites using rapidweaver?
    Does it has any built-in features?
     
  23. Precision Gem macrumors 6502

    Precision Gem

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Location:
    USA
    #23
    Strange comment for someone who is visiting this website!

    I have been using Rapidweaver for years, and find it very useful for developing my website, and a few others for friends.

    Yes people today do use websites, most real business do use them rather than social media.
     
  24. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #24
    I imagined businesses are using a more advanced software or writing plain code in editors. The age of personal websites is over. There was a time were many people had a personal site, now its rare and people just give out their twitter handle or facebook.
     
  25. Dranix macrumors 6502a

    Dranix

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Gelnhausen, Germany
    #25
    Sadly as this is what changes the net to the junk it is today 8(
     

Share This Page