Raw photos get messed up on import

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by joe8232, Dec 26, 2013.

  1. joe8232 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    #1
    Anyone have any ideas why my raw photos won't open properly on my mac (10.9)? The preview pane in finder shows the image fine but when I open the picture in lightroom 4 or preview it becomes a scrambled mess. I've attached an example screenshot.

    The camera is a 60d and the images are being saved as cr2 if that makes a difference.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    But does old LR 4 support new 60D? Go ahead and upgrade to LR5 and then see if there is a problem.
     
  3. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #3
    That couldn't be the issue as the Canon 60D was released in 2010, and LR4 wasn't released until 2012. Maybe you are thinking of the recently released Canon 70D.
     
  4. joe8232 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    #4
    I was thinking of trying LR5 just to see. This doesn't happen on my imac though which also has LR4. Very frustrating.
     
  5. paulCC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #5
    Broken for Olympus ORF files as well.

    Hello, I think Mavericks has broken support for more than one type of RAW files. Obviously not for everyone, maybe this depends on older hw, upgrade/update history....there has been several posts I have seen.

    My experience is described here:
    http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3566669

    I am a bit unhappy that 10.9.1. did not fix this.

    Paul
     
  6. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    But what does Mavericks know/care about a Canon CR2 file...other than it is a valid OS file? It should be apps like LR, PS, Aperture, and iPhoto that will try to use the CR2 raw file.

    While I don't have a 60D, I have had zero problem with the last several releases of LR and Mac OS for files from my 7D or 5D3. But I always upgrade to the latest version of OS and LR ASAP.
     
  7. joe8232 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    #7
    Found the issue. I'm using a USB to ad card reader and it appears this is causing the issues. If I copy the files from my iMac to the MBA they open fine.

    Anyone got any recommendations for a good one, mine is a cheap one from eBay.
     
  8. MiniD3 macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Hi There,

    Ive been using a lexar USB3 card reader for a couple of years now
    Works a treat, very fast and does CF and SD cards
    ....Gary
     
  9. ossgraphics macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    #9
    The idea of using a lexar USB3 card reader seems perfect at all.
     
  10. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #10
    Lexar dual slot USB 3 reader has world every well for us for years.
     

Share This Page