Razer Copperhead vs Diamondblack 3G for Mac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by eXan, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #1
    Hi, I'd like to buy a new mouse for my MacBook.

    I spent last three hours researching about Razer mice and I was set on buying the green Copperhead until I stumbled upon reports saying it doesn't work in OS X AT ALL and is recognized as a keyboard :confused:

    I don't care for additional buttons, I just need the mouse to left, right click, scroll vertically and track nicely.

    Does Diamondblack 3G or Copperhead has this basic mouse functionality in Mac OS X? Do I need separate software like USB Overdrive to make it work?

    I'd REALLY appreciate some help here as I'm totally confused :confused::confused:
     
  2. FuuFuu macrumors regular

    FuuFuu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Roselle
    #2
  3. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #3
    Thank you for your input! Apple Store does indeed sell 3 Razer mice: Pro Click Mobile Notebook, Pro 1.6 and DeathAdder, but sadly, none of those fit my hand.

    I'd really like to hear about Copperhead and Diamondblack 3G mice :)
     
  4. grahamnp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #4
    My Copperhead retains about 60% functionality when used together with steermouse. Most of the settings that I lose are the dedicated X and Y sensitivity adjustments along with the on-the-fly sensitivity settings but since I don't game in OSX, that suits me fine.

    I'd recommend you get the Death Adder though, no need to mess around with extra software.
     
  5. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #5
    Update on my situation:

    As I work at the local computer store that just happens to have a couple of Razers in stock, I tried the Copperhead with a MacBook Pro. When I was unpacking it I was prepared for the worst (not working at all) and just as I plugged it in the USB a keyboard setup window opened (there were reports that Copperhead is only recognized as keyboard in OS X so I wasn't that surprised). Saddened, I moved the mouse a bit just in case and noticed that the cursor moved as well! :) Along with left, right and wheel buttons + sensitivity change buttons! Buttons on the left side were only performing left click though but it isn't a big deal as I don't need those bottons.

    So it turns out that Copperhead does have the basic mouse functionality when plugged into Mac.

    Now I'm debating between Razer Pro 1.6 (which does have Mac drivers) and green Copperhead. I just need to try the 1.6 in person so I can finally decide (I've read its a bit smaller than Copperhead). 1.6 will fit my white MacBook much better as it is white with blue backlighting as opposed to Copperhead which is black with green backlight.

    Thank you for your info! :) I don't want DeathAdder because its not designed for the "claw" hand position that I use my mice with.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #6
    If you don't mind something out of left field, give the G9 a shot. Yes, it has no mac compatibility officially. What I did was set it up in Windows (2000DPI, NO DPI switching) and then just plugged it into a Mac. No issues, as it has onboard memory that it uses. It's a bit steep at $100, but its build quality is far superior to Razer. After owning several Razer mice, I was very disappointed with the quality of the driver software, the technical support, and the mouse itself. Logitech on the other hand has fantastic mouse software (That you will not be using :p), excellent build quality, and technical support that is unmatched. I have never called in an issue with the G9, but I have had many customers come to me with Logitech mice that they have lost the USB wireless nub for and purchased a new mouse and given me the old mouse. I always turn around and call Logitech and they send me a nub no questions asked and I sell it.

    BREATHE. God, hopefully go you got something out of that wall of text.
     
  7. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #7
    :) thanks for the tip about the G9, but I've read reviews and specs it its just not long enough (only 10 cm) for me and people say its not made for the Claw grip - its mainly for Palm grip so it not the mouse for me :)

    If I were to buy Logitech I would get something with the similar (or the same) form as my MX500 that I use with iMac. :)

    I'm still debating between Pro 1.6 and Copperhead :( :eek:
     
  8. Causality macrumors newbie

    Causality

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    I recently purchased a Razer Diamondback for my Macbook and use the Pro|Click driver, which seems to work fine. I think the Pro|Click and the Diamondback are essentially the same mice just different colors.

    The only problem that I have noticed so far is that whenever I unplug the mouse and plug it back in, The mouse settings get reset.

    Anyways, hope this helps. :eek:
     
  9. airjuggernaut macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #9
    I have the Pro|Click 1.6 (Diamondback essentially)

    I personally think it's a DECENT mouse. The drivers are really really bad, so i just use the basic support the Mac OSX has built in for mice.

    Also, if you have anything but the "Claw grip" style of holding the mouse, it's extremely uncomfortable the first few times you use it.

    I'm actually looking to get a different mouse, once i get a little bit more cash because I really don't like the feel of the 1.6.

    Also, if you're buying it just for the brand. DON'T.
    I think you'd be better off with a logitech gaming mouse...
     
  10. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #10
    Oh thank you all for the help! I didn't know that 1.6 is basically DiamondBlack, but I was suspecting it ;)

    I have the Claw grip and the Copperhead feels extremely comfortable in my hand! So I'm not buying Razer just for the brand - its a really comfortable mouse. It was incredibly difficult to find a mouse that suits me - I've tried Logitech MX/VX Revolution/Nano, other Logitech mice, some MS mice, Genious and some other brands and I couldn't find the one that suits me! :eek:

    I'm going to try the Copperhead today with the Pro|Click 1.6 drivers and see if they work.
     
  11. grahamnp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #11
    I prefer the claw grip as well.

    Well if the Death Adder is out of the question, then the Copperhead is the better mouse, the laser sensor is great. So it's a choice between the official(and working drivers) and the superior sensor and tracking.

    I find that the extra sensitivity of the Copperhead isn't of much use in OSX, coming from having used Windows most of my life, I can't get used to the acceleration and have to turn the sensitivity down a little.
     
  12. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #12
    While there are some sensor/tracking differences, the 1.6 (or DiamondBlack) has its side buttons located on the side backlit rails (on copperhead they are right below these rails). I'm trying to figure out what is the best position for me, so that I don't accidentally click on them :eek:

    By the way, I've tried the Copperhead with Pro 1.6 drivers and it didn't work.
     
  13. Causality macrumors newbie

    Causality

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #13
    Too bad...

    Do the Diamondback and the Pro|Click have the same DPI? I know the Copperhead is a bit higher.
     
  14. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #14
    Pro|Click: 1600 (infrared)
    Diamondblack: 1800 (3G infrared)
    Copperhead: 2000 (laser)
     
  15. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
  16. Causality macrumors newbie

    Causality

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #16
    I have read a number of different articles about Copperhead compatibility in OS X. One of the things I noticed was that apparently you can program all your settings into the mouse's onboard memory in Windows and then if you decide to use the mouse in OS X, those settings will be carried over.

    I have no way to confirm this, but if it were the case, perhaps you could program the mouse in Darwine or something and then have no need of Windows...
     
  17. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #17
    Yea, I was thinking about setting the mouse up in Windows so its saved on the built-in memory, but thanks for the tip anyway :)

    I bet Windows drivers cant assign buttons to Expose and Dashboard though :(
     
  18. Causality macrumors newbie

    Causality

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #18
    Well, perhaps you could assign the mouse buttons to the F keys that normally operate dashboard and expose.
     
  19. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #19
    Good idea :)
     
  20. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #20
    So I have some news here!

    First of all, I've finally bough the Copperhead yesterday! :)

    I've decided that I liked the position of the side buttons more than on Diamondblack so I pulled the trigger. Bought it in the local store for ~87$ with my discount.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Installed drivers into my Bootcamp partition (BTW, Razer software sucks :mad: ) and messed around with the settings. Probably broken something, but the acceleration in OS X never worked the same since. After numerous restores I've finally given up and downloaded USB overdrive. Could be better, but its ok now.

    Bottom line:

    Mouse looks great and works fine. My only issue is with the Razer's crappy software and strange cursor tracking requiring me to set the cursor speed higher (I prefer low sensitivity).

    Thank you all for your contribution :)
     
  21. airjuggernaut macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #21
    ^^
    I'm happy that you like your new mouse.
    It looks fantastic! :D

    but yeah Razer's software and driver for Mac OSX is the crappiest thing i've ever seen.

    The only way i got my mouse to work with normal acceleration again was after doing a reformat and using apple's generic drivers.
     
  22. 7031 macrumors 6502

    7031

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #22
    I'm using a Razer Copperhead mouse (red one) with my Mac and it works fine. Never even thought to install the drivers.

    I hope you're happy with your purchase!
     
  23. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #23
    I was talking about Windows drivers. I installed them to disable the side buttons and after that the acceleration never worked the way it did before, even after mouse restore, EVEN on a different computer.

    But anyway :)
     
  24. Causality macrumors newbie

    Causality

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #24
    Glad you decided which one to buy.

    Razer really does need to work on their drivers. I found the Windows version worked okay, until I tried to plug in another mouse, then it screwed that one up. It was fairly similar on OS X.

    I think the problem with Razer software is that it does not recognize when you have a Razer mouse plugged in, it just applies the settings to whatever mouse you are using.
     
  25. airjuggernaut macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #25
    That's odd :|
    I've never had an issue with the Razer drivers on Windows. The drivers on windows seem pretty decent.
     

Share This Page