Razer Imperator

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by RLesko, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. RLesko, Jul 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2011

    RLesko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #1
    I know this is a bit of a repost, but I think I have some unique issues here. Obviously I have a razer imperator mouse, I am on a 2008 macbook pro, and mac os x lion. I have installed two different drivers for the razer and it still has issues (one installs options in the system preferences and the one that creates a separate application for the settings). The one in the system preferences pane can adjust the settings, but every time I reopen the settings, my changes do not persist. The application "Razer Imperator 2012" simply does not recognize my device.

    I cannot program any of the buttons and the mouse always initially works but after a few minutes of usage it stops working (stop working - movement of the mouse becomes crazy and no vertical movement). I have tried multiple different surfaces and the issue persists. Now, is this most likely a software issue or hardware issue? The reason I ask is because I bought it refurbished from woot.com so I believe there is a chance the product is not 100%. I also can't seem to reason out why it would work but only after a specified amount of time.

    I understand there are work-arounds like usb overdrive and steer mouse, but how does that truly effect the product? Is the performance going to be the same going through some sort of third party application like that? At this point I'd even settle for 3 button functionality out of the damn thing :confused:. Please help.

    Thanks.

    EDIT: The more I think about it, the more I think this could be a Lion issue (which would explain why the razer software wouldn't work, but third party should technically still work if it says Lion is supported?). That being said, anyone have any idea what the turnaround is for razer to write drivers for a new OS?
     
  2. RLesko thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #2
    It seems everyone is just as lost as me, I know on the razer website it doesn't list 10.7 as compatible but shouldn't it at least work with basic functionality + 3rd party drivers? That being said, should I complain to razer or is this my mistake?
     
  3. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #3
    Lion hasn't been out for very long. It could just be that they're still developing drivers that will work with it. Your best bet is to email them and ask. Any answer they give is bound to be better than any response you'll receive here.
     
  4. Kid Red macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    #4
    Any update to this? I just got an Imperator today and it's awesome. But I want to tweak some stuff, lights, a few buttons etc and I get the same not recognized error.

    Sadly, I found out it does not side scroll. I will miss that in photoshop.
     
  5. grahamnp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #5
    I just got the 2012 version Imperator and when it works it's great but unfortunately, it doesn't work half the time. Software dependent functions like profile switching display and the on-the-fly sensitivity work intermittently. Opening the driver software gives me a "device not connected" message.

    Unplugging and replugging can either fix the problem, cause a kernel panic or make it read the "synapse configuration" for an indefinite period of time.

    I'd like to think this was a compatibility issue with Lion because it is not listed as officially supported under the driver specs but I've always had driver issues with all my Razer mice, even on Windows. I previously had a Deathadder that did not fully work with up to date drivers on 10.6.
     
  6. Kid Red macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    #6
    Sorry to hear that. I've used the mouse for a few weeks now and I absolutely live it! Best mouse I've owned even though I can't program it. Tracking is so smooth and precise and the contour for my grip is awesome. I've had zero issues with it under Lion.
     
  7. SuperPathy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    Belleville, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Side buttons

    Has anyone found a way to use the 2 side buttons as the back and forward function when web browsing? My old Logitech mouse allowed this, but the Imperator doesn't seem to allow this.:confused:
     

Share This Page