Razer Orochi Configuration Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by patchbook, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. patchbook macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    #1
    I'm curious as to whether anyone has succesfully gotten the Razer Orochi to work on their system. For me, it's detected in both wired/wireless mode, but the OS Utility does not detect it, and therefore does not allow me to tweak the sensitivity levels among other things.

    Has anyone else experienced this?

    I'm on a rMBP '13 with Mountain Lion.

    Cheers,
     
  2. swerve147 macrumors 6502a

    swerve147

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #2
    You need to download and use the Razer software to enable full functionality.

    For Razer Orochi 2013 you need Synapse:

    http://drivers.razersupport.com/index.php?_m=downloads&_a=viewdownload&downloaditemid=860&_m=downloads&_a=viewdownload&downloaditemid=860

    For the original Razer Orochi (R1) you need the Full Mac driver:

    http://drivers.razersupport.com//index.php?_m=downloads&_a=viewdownload&downloaditemid=444&nav=0,76,292,39,142
     
  3. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    I use a 2013 Orochi but I don't use the synapse driver. Instead I simply use Better Touch Tool. If you want to tweak the sensitivity then I believe you have to use the USB cable and synapse to initially program it.
     
  4. stevemiller macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #4
    i don't know what the deal is, but configuring this mouse is unbelieveably awful on my system.

    i have the synapse 2.0 configuration utility on my system, and it constantly CONSTANTLY is losing track of button configurations.

    sometimes it will show my active profile, show the mouse buttons as having the proper functions attached in the config screen, and still not have the buttons respond. i have to log out and back in before it will properly detect.

    other times it will have my profile i created active, and some of the buttons will work, but other ones will just have disappeared entirely, reverting them to their factory settings and i basically have to remap them from scratch. i've only had the mouse less than a week, and i've already had to do this 3 times.

    all of this nonsense is happening while plugged in via usb, i might add. i can't even use the bluetooth because it goes to sleep every minute and takes at least 5 seconds to reconnect.

    i was so optimistic about this mouse, but its rapidly shaping up to be a horrible waste :(
     
  5. yliu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #5
    I'm also having problems with the Synapse 2.0 on my MBPr and Orochi.

    My settings always disappear for no reason... Unusable!
     
  6. stevemiller macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #6
    can anyone confirm the bluetooth behaviour that when the mouse goes to sleep, it doesn't take a "split second" to reconnect as some reviews suggest, but in fact many seconds? I'm fine with a slight delay, but 5 or more is a total productivity killer.
     
  7. yliu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #7
    As of now, I haven't used a Bluetooth mouse that takes a split second to reconnect from sleep mode. Maybe one that uses a wireless receiver might be faster.

    In my experience it's not a big deal, as it doesn't go to sleep mode often unless I leave it for extended period of time. Otherwise, it's connected to my laptop most of the time during usage.
     
  8. stevemiller macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #8
    I have the apple Bluetooth mouse, and I've never experienced any noticeable sleep delays when using it.

    In my daily usage, I do not have my hand on the mouse nonstop to keep it awake, and I am being stopped in my tracks by the mouse becoming unresponsive when I need it. And just moving it doesn't wake it, either. I have to press one of the primary buttons and wait.

    Lastly, it is not being left for "extended periods," this is one minute of inactivity. The time it takes to get a glass of water, visit the washroom, have a coworker ask you a question, answer a phone call, compose an email, type something in terminal, etc. I just wish it could be configured. Even 5 minutes would be a massive improvement.
     
  9. yliu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #9
    Are the batteries full? Which version of the Orochi you have?

    It seems like mine goes to sleep in 3 minutes, and take about a second to wake which is quite fast.
     
  10. stevemiller macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #10
    i have the 2013 version. i timed it and you are correct, it is after 3 minutes exactly that it goes to sleep. however i also timed the wake speed, and it is a full 5 seconds for me. :(

    i can see how this setup makes sense for gaming, wherein people probably have one hand on the mouse for the duration of play, but its brutal for me using the computer for productivity, where my day is a mix of trackpad, mouse, and keyboard depending on the task i'm trying to accomplish.

    plus there are just so many other issues with the mouse that are making me regret it. the settings application is the worst thing i've ever encountered. it loses button configs within profiles, loses entire profiles, adds redundant copies of empty profiles that i never created in the first place (see screenshot.) and despite all the aggressive battery saving sleep behaviour, its already reporting that it's reporting low battery after only having had it for 2 weeks, and at least half of that i had it switched off and was wired because the sleep issue was so frustrating. AND now today the mouse has actually started having tracking issues, where it will only register one axis of motion, or it won't register any movement or button input at all (did it again while composing this post), despite being "awake" and lit up.

    this is so disappointing because this mouse seemed so good on paper. and i'd thought i was investing in something decent, after having lived with a horrid logitech mouse for a year or so. i don't know what the deal is, but it seems like the quality of mice has been in decline the past few years.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. yliu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #11
    If my computer is in sleep mode, then it takes more time for the mouse (and computer) to wake. However if my computer is awake, then my Orochi wakes in about a second.

    I have also experienced the mouse loosing settings, button 8 & 9 keeps losing it's function. This should be a software bug and I emailed Razer about it. Hopefully they will fix it.

    As for the tracking issues, I've never experienced them and it should be covered by the warranty. Bring the mouse back to where you bought it and they should fix or replace it.
     
  12. stevemiller macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #12
    thanks, i probably will look into contacting razer about my issues.

    to clarify about the waking from sleep, the computer is always already awake when it happens, and generally the mouse has only gone to sleep because i've been using the keyboard. incidentally, since i'm running an ssd, my orochi takes almost as long to wake from sleep as the entire computer takes to boot. so from a user experience standpoint, it often "feels" like i'm having to reboot my computer every time i reach for my mouse.
     
  13. ehausler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Stockholm , Sweden
    #13
    could this be the solution?

    Hi,
    To make the Razer Orochi visible in Bluetooth mode you need to press the 4 side buttons simultaneously for five seconds. It does the trick for me.
    Remember this, at least I need to do it once in a while.
    When you perform this the Orochi becomes visible thus identifiable by Mac OS X.

    I have a software called Steermouse that I much prefer to Razer's own. Had it for years, works with all kinds of different mice. You might know of better ones, but it's easy to configure a default behaviour and setups for different apps.
    It runs smoothly in the background as configured in the System Preferences where it has its own panel once installed.
    Only two of the four buttons are programmable though (haven't looked for updates in years, maybe that's changed).

    Anyway, hope this helps:)
    /E
     

Share This Page