Razor Core/eGPU Compatibility 15" vs 13" MBPTB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shadow82x, Dec 11, 2016.

  1. shadow82x macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #1
    I've seen reports of people having success running the Razor Core on Windows on the 13" TBMBP but not the 15" variant. Is there a reason for this?

    I have a 15" TBMBP and I can't get the Razor Core (GTX 1080) working on neither bootcamp or OSX. Would I need the 13" model for this to work properly?
     
  2. Jaekae macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #2
    Maby because the 13" only have the intel gpu, while 15" already have 2 gpus
     
  3. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #3
    Hey look through these forums

    https://www.techinferno.com/index.php?/forums/forum/113-implementation-guides-apple/
    --- Post Merged, Dec 12, 2016 ---
    MacBooks with intel and nvidia graphics are the easiest to setup if you use a nvidia card in the razer
    --- Post Merged, Dec 12, 2016 ---
    To be honest, with TB these solutions should just work, they don't in general needing tweaking with apple hardware. Mess around with it and it should work.

    I messed around a lot with egpus on macs and my advice, get a skull canyon :p . My biggest drawcard to TB was egpus, and it does not just work .... I think from memory my Mac mini 2012 was the easiest to setup.

    I tried a titan x pascal on the 2016 MacBook Pro , but could not be bothered spending hours and hours trying to get it running, just put a warerblock on it and put it inside a PC.

    I believe egpus are the future of laptop gaming , though not sure they will just be plug and play with apple hardware anytime soon
     
  4. shadow82x thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #4
    Thanks for your reply!

    I haven't found any 2016 discussions on that link above. I too have a Titan XP (pulled from a PC), and I've tried everything to get it to work with the Core. Nada. It looks like it needs tweaking to completely disable to the Raedon Pro 460 in bootcamp in order to run the core. And in Mac OS, I've had no luck, I can't even get Synapse to detect it...and I'm running the latest 10.12.2 beta.

    Looks like its time to sell the Razor Core and slap that titan x back into a computer. I just wish it was truly plug and play. But from the looks, it won't be anytime soon.
     
  5. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #5
    Just a heads up, I got a GTX 1070 working no problems with my Mac mini, when I got the Titan XP it refused to work. I suspect the issue is with the Titan XP also, I had lots of success with the 1070, I could not get the XP to work with anything. Also with the 1080 being limited by TB 3, using an Titan XP is kinda pointless with a core, maybe TB 4
     
  6. shadow82x thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #7
  7. kid2010 macrumors member

    kid2010

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    #8
    lol I'm not sure how you read the thread. It works fine under Windows (needs to tweak some settings), and under macOS, it needs a patch to work but after the patch it works with most graphic cards (up to GTX980, not possible with GTX10xx yet to due lack of drivers).
     

Share This Page