Re-Activating iPhone 5 (Replacement)

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by tha80sbrat, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. tha80sbrat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #1
    My replacement iPhone 5 arrived and I need to activate it. I don't know how to do it. I thought by syncing it up to iTunes, it would detect my settings, but I guess I have to contact AT&T to deactivate my first iPhone 5?

    Does it have to do with my SIM Card? Can I just swap the cards?

    There were no instructions and I want to figure this out before I ship the original iPhone 5 back to Apple.

    Any help would be much appreciated!

    Thanks!
     
  2. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    should be able to pop in your sim card and go. beauty of GSM. when you turn the phone on, it should activate itself.
     
  3. tha80sbrat thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #3
    So it does have to do with the SIM Card?

    I would like to avoid calling AT&T if that's all I have to do. Just wish Apple had mentioned something about it...
     
  4. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    its well known in the GSM world, just pop in your new SIM card and go. its always been that easy. your account info is tied to your SIM, so whatever phone you pop it in will be "yours". there no need to call at&t, the network will register that devices IMEI onto your account in the beginning minutes the phone is powered on.
     
  5. tha80sbrat thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #5
    Cool! Swapped the cards...and it worked!

    Thank you!
     
  6. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    no problem!
     

Share This Page