Re-activating Sprint Iphone, will I lose international unlock?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by anshuman26, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. anshuman26 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    #1
    Hi there,

    I have a Sprint Iphone 4S activated before Nov 11. My sim slot is unlocked. However, if I did a factory reset (delete all data and settings), I believe I would be required to activate again.

    In that case, do I lose the sim unlock? Since I think Sprint would push sim locks at the time of activation. I am not sure, if sprint has it in records that this phone was originally activated before Nov 11th and so the sim should not be locked.

    Please advice, if someone has tried re-activating the iPhone post Nov 11, and still have their sim slot unlocked.
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    In the past, once an iPhone is officially unlocked the phone will stay that way.

    Not sure about Sprint though.
     
  3. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  4. d4rklamp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    #4
    If you have factory unlocked or carrier unlocked, does not matter. You will be able to re-activate over and over again as long as the sim card has network signal where you are planning to activate it.
     
  5. anshuman26 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    #5
    well...it's a sprint iphone.....as you all may know, sprint iphones were sim unlocked for international use prior to Nov 11. However, since Nov 11th, the phones from Sprint are locked...

    i believe the locking actually happens during the time of activation....so what concerns me is that if i did a factory reset and had to re-activate (since factory reset requires activation), I am afraid I might lose my international unlock...
     
  6. bapemos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #6
    All I know is that....

    Well, my friend has a Sprint iPhone 4S activated before Nov 11th, he went to Settings --> General --> Reset --> and selected "Erase All Content and Settings". After the action the phone asked for activation (LOL, he thought it was gonna get locked). BUT, I'm surprised that it did remain unlocked after re-activating it.

    My vendor told me that he bought some Sprint iPhones 4S for sale, and that he upgraded 3 of them to 5.0.1 and the phones remained unlocked.

    But I still have my doubts, it's very interesting that there is no information about this when you google it.

    If there are more people who can share their experiences would be great.
     
  7. macieiks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #7
    I am the owner of sprint 64gb iphone 4s and last month i had to restore my sprint phone. Before restore my iPhone was unlocked, after restore it shows itunes with white cable, so I connected to iTunes, and my iPhone was activated. It is still unlocked phone! I put inside foreign sim and it works.
     
  8. SporkLover macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #8
    It won't. I did that last week and it still works with foreign sims.
     
  9. iloveiphone4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #9
    but that is the catch, from what i understand, sprint phones will work with foreign sim's, they just wont work with att and tmobile sim's, so testing with foreign sim's is not exactly a 100% test of unlock.
     
  10. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    They are only unlocked for foreign use and all activated on Sprint before 11/11 stay that way.
     
  11. macieiks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #11

    Any official note about that ? I'm just curious :rolleyes:
     
  12. SporkLover macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #12
    :rolleyes: google it yourself if you don't believe her. It was widely publicized.

    That is Sprints position with all of their world capable phones. Domestically they ignore us based sim cards. If you are unlocked internationally then you can use any foreign sim card.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Verwon said it.
    It's official. :)
     
  14. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    Thank you! ;-)

    I actually did thorough checking to be sure. I do leave the U.S. occasionally.
     
  15. macieiks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #15
    Ok, Thanks

    I'm living in Europe so I asked. I don't know Sprint's policy.

    Will I have the opportunity to make JB on my 4s, if pod2g release JB for A5 device? I don't want to fail and lost my "working" iphone... because of simlock :)
     
  16. pm67tw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Location:
    Taiwan
    #16
    Sorry to bring up this old post. Back with the 4, I had AT&T's , can activate with AT&T SIM and iTunes.

    Now I have a Sprint 4S. I am wondering how do I activate the phone after a restore? Just connect to iTunes?

    Last year I bought Sprint 4S from eBay that came unactivated, I tried everything and just won't work so I had to return it.

    Can any oversea (non US) Sprint owners share some info? TIA!
     

Share This Page