Re-download and re-install 10.12.1 Beta 2

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by MrGimper, Sep 28, 2016.

  1. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #1
    I started the install of 10.12.1 b2 and after the first reboot the progress bar got stuck and I had to force a reboot. About this mac says I'm on 10.12.1 Beta (16B2333a) but I'm not convinced it completed successfully.

    Any way to re-download the beta installer from App Store or anywhere, and start the installer again?

    Cheers
     
  2. tywebb13, Sep 28, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2016

    tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #2
    It is not a good idea to force reboot in the middle of an update. Progress bars are notorious for being rediculously inaccurate. Best to leave it alone - even if it looks "stuck".

    You won't be able to fix it via mac app store because it is already showing you have 16B2333a (at least not without downgrading first).

    Nevertheless in your case you can download the 3 installer packages via direct links in apple's developer forums and install them individually. But to do this you have to do it via another partition because Sierra won't let you install them individually from within the same partition.

    That way you can be sure all 3 packages get installed.
     
  3. MrGimper thread starter macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #3
    Thanks, just downloading the 3 packages from the dev forums now. Do you know if they can be installed from the recovery partition? If not, I'll have to install El Cap onto an external disk and boot that.
     
  4. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #4
    Well I haven't tried to do it via the recovery partition. But I doubt that will work because that is part of Sierra and it is Sierra itself which stops the installers from installing individually.

    So El Capitan on the other partition is a better option. That system will allow the packages to install individually. You just have to be careful to select the Sierra partition onto which you are going to install them.
     
  5. MrGimper thread starter macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #5
    Awesome thanks, just downloading El Cap from the MAS and then I'll install it to my external disk. Thanks for your help.
     
  6. MrGimper thread starter macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #6
    Had to create an El Cap installer USB, boot from that and install onto my external SSD. Then booted the external SSD and installed the 3 files, ensuring I selected my Sierra partition as the target. All worked, cheers.
     
  7. tywebb13, Sep 28, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2016

    tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #7
    Glad it worked.

    BUT ...... I have 2 concerns about this method.

    1. How long is it going to last? How are we going to boot up newer macs which won't support El Capitan? It's not going to work anymore, is it?

    2. The need for El Capitan and partitions. This should not be necessary.

    To test the second method specified in apple's developer forums I actually did something very similar for 10.12.1 beta 2, except I used an external HD instead of SSD. Yours is probably faster.

    Anyway before that I tested the method out on the final GM of Sierra on the other partition to see if it really is Sierra that is the culprit here, not the partitioning. Sierra was definitely the culprit. So I wiped that and put El Capitan there instead and thereafter it worked.

    But I'm still trying to find out what part of Sierra is causing the problem. Actually what I really want is some way to get the packages to install individually from within Sierra so as to eliminate the need for El Capitan and another partition.

    This way it won't matter if newer macs won't support El Capitan.

    The most obvious part of Sierra and El Capitan which is different is the installer.app from /System/Library/CoreServices which run the packages. They both have version number 6.2.0 ... HOWEVER .... different bundle versions 909 and 853 respectively.

    So the next time there is a beta, I'll try running the packages through installer.app bundle version 853 from within Sierra and see if that helps.

    If this works it will mean there is only a tiny bit of El Capitan which is needed, i.e., the installer app which you can just copy out from /System/Library/CoreServices. It's about 10MB as opposed to 6GB!

    It is tempting to upload it somewhere but unfortunately it is proprietary software owned by apple. So although you can get it free by installing El Captan it would be illegal to upload it somewhere. So the only legal way to get it is copy it out from El Capitan into Sierra.

    So it doesn't totally solve the problem, but may go some way towards simplifying it.
     
  8. GTJayG macrumors newbie

    GTJayG

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    #8
    Not certain this isn't an issue with the beta update itself. I've now updated two machines, and both had the same symptom of a nonworking progress bar. Both were left to their own devices, and eventually seemed to have updated with out issue. It was certainly unsettling for the first one, and while annoying for the second, at least it was repeated.
     

Share This Page