Re: Film - Exporting from FCPX to Logic X for post production audio

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by 14Thor, Jan 13, 2017.

  1. 14Thor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    #1
    Hi guys, I've been away from both the mentioned software for a while, ie. when you could simply export a n .omf file from FCPX to LX, a feature now conspicuously absent in the newer versions for which I need a fix.

    here's the problem -

    My work colleague uses the current version of FCPX and sent me an .xml file along with all the shots in .wav from the film. When I attempt to import these into Logic however, I am prompted to locate the files from the directory on his Mac. It seems to me that the most obvious fix is to have both applications installed on the same machine, however neither of us has the one that the other is using.

    My question is simply - how can I use the audio files provided to import into LX and get started on my part of the project.

    My apologies if this is a noob question but the logistics of getting both machines together in one place is a nightmare. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers.
     
  2. JamesPDX Suspended

    JamesPDX

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Did he sent the all the shots before he cut it, or is it from the final edit?

    So you're importing the .XML into Logic. Have you tried the Find/Relink Missing Files? Are you doing music or are you cutting dialog/background/SFX?

    Does he have Logic? If so, he could "Import XML" into Logic, save it in the "package format and send it to you. But you should still be given a "flat" video reference file/track to work over.
     
  3. joema2 macrumors 65816

    joema2

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #3
    I am not experienced in this area but if the only problem is being asked to locate the media files on the destination Mac, you will need to have those files and point the import dialog to the right folder. This is no different than moving a purely video project to a new Mac using XML. It needs the media files on the new Mac and you must point the import or relink dialog to the proper location. The only way around that is to have the same media files on a drive volume with the same name and in the same folder path.

    This Apple support page says it's necessary to select XML version 1.5 during the FCPX export: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT207238

    Also here is a MacBreak Studio discussing some tips:

     
  4. 14Thor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    #4
    I've tried with and I concluded with the same results as per your next question.

    I borrowed his external HD, installed a 30 day trial of FCPX so as to be able to open and save the FCPX package file. There were a few choices of types of .xml to export such as 'rough' or 'fine' but all options resulted in unsynchronized imports into Logic X.

    I have since found a workaround via a clip on YouTube in which the user is using DaVinci Resolve as a "middle man" between the export-import. But I have a new problem - DaVinci Resolve cannot open because I do not have OpenCL installed and the files I can obtain for OpenCL are such that don't include a conventional .dmg or .pkg installer, so again I am stuck.
     
  5. JamesPDX Suspended

    JamesPDX

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    OMG, that's nuts. Open FCPX and have the video editor walk you through it again until you get to the point where you can export the Project as an .XML file.
     
  6. Unami macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    Austria
    #6
    try again by exporting a 1.5 version xml and importing that to logic - and the point logic to the exact audio/video files of the final cut project (not exported wavs). maybe you or your colleague can do a "flat" video - 1 video track and the audios separated - so it's easier for logic. one other workaround could be to group the audio in roles and export a multichannel audio/video file (i think it only exports .mov, even if there's no video) or multiple audio-files for each role. they should all sync up then.
     
  7. 14Thor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    #7
    So, with the new updates of Logic and FCPX to 10.3 and 10.3.1 respectively, I've managed to get an export however not all audio/video is synced. This short film project basically had a different sound recordists every shoot day and therefore I suspect there were inconsistencies. Some audio recordists perhaps didn't record the clapper. I think rather than hypothesising whether it was the fault of the crew personnel, FCPX mix or export, it's simply time to just sync this up manually. At this point it seems that all audio recordings exist in the Logic project on various tracks, some in sync, some not. It will have to be a manual sync up to the final cut audio of the project. I'm interested in knowing the source however, because this was a very common problem at film school.

    Thanks for the replies guys.
     
  8. JamesPDX Suspended

    JamesPDX

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    USA
    #8
  9. haysoos123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #9
    Maybe it's already too late for this and you're on your way with this project, but really the tool of choice for this is an intermediary program called X2Pro. The basic steps are: export XML from FCPX, import it into X2Pro and spit out an AAF file. Usually, this will be an embedded AAF file, so that all the audio is embedded in there. Then, you can import that file into Logic Pro X (or Pro Tools), and along with an outputted video file, have all your audio there ready to edit. I don't know if the latest version of Logic Pro fixed its interoperability with XML, but last I heard it wasn't perfect (as you are seeing). This is why we use AAF... and also since going to Pro Tools which doesn't accept xml, is more common.

    Sorry, X2Pro costs money, but the cost of it and FCPX is still lower than the old FCP7. I would say that this cost should be on the editor/AE side, though, since all the sound person needs is the AAF.

    Btw, the AAF format is an like an updated, more advanced version of OMF. OMF is obsolete these days, although many post houses still continue to accept and use it.
     
  10. JamesPDX Suspended

    JamesPDX

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    But remember that you need to edit from the film editors cut, not simply the files from production-captured audio. Sure, you may reference them in your timeline, but you're following the cut. Always have a reference cut: Like a Quicktime movie with the audio track. Get your frame rates and sample rates right. If you get a file that was hastily bounced and running at 30fps and 44.1 khz, then something's probably wrong and should be re-examined. You should be getting a file at the project's rendered frame rate, be it 29.97 or 29.97d or 24 or 23.976 and the production audio sample rate of 48khz. Talk to your editor or the DIT or the producer and get the spec so you don't end up with drift. You can't start unless you have a reference movie. You'll be able to mute the audio when you need to as you edit, but you need a reference point. Is he sending you reels or the entire thing? Reels are usually offset by an hour so there are no mixups: Reel 1 start is 01:00:00:00 [HH:MM:SS:FF]
    Reel 2 is 02:00:00:00. If you see something with timecode come across your desk with a semicolon - 01:00:00;00 -then you know it's "drop frame" like 29.97d.

    Hope you're getting everything sorted out. No news is good news?
     

Share This Page