Re-installing vista macbook pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by john335, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. john335 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #1
    Hi guys i am on holiday and really need to reinstall vista. i have the vista cd with me. when i try and boot from cd it says 'press any key to boot from cd' but the keyboard doesnt work until i am in windows. i dont have boot camp with me and am a bit stuck

    any ideas?

    thanks john
     
  2. 88888888 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    How do you not have Boot Camp with you if you already have Vista installed? Why did you (delete?) Boot Camp with Windows installed?
     
  4. john335 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #4
    thanks.... sorry for being stupid how do i do that?
     
  5. nephilim7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #5
    in utils dir in applications there should be an app called 'boot camp assistant'.. open it, tell it to delete the partition, recreate a partition and reinstall
     
  6. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #6
    I think he deleted the assistant ?????
     
  7. nephilim7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #7
    one would hope that isn't the case.
     
  8. john335 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #8
    the bootcamp beta version i used expired. i cannot find anywhere to download a new version from, all i can find are updates. any links would be great. i am not used to macs at all. is there any other easy fool proof way i can get this sorted asap? thanks:(
     
  9. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #9
    my guess is that you have tiger.

    to get support for bootcamp you must have leopard.
     
  10. john335 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
  11. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #11
    There's no good way around it. Possibly resetting the date on the Mac and disabling System Preferences->Date & Time->"Date & Time->Set date & time automatically" and then trying it might work. But it might just screw up everything once the date gets set correctly.

    Basically, you need to buy Leopard or stop using Windows on the Mac.
     

Share This Page