Re Register my Imac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by leejay25, May 26, 2008.

  1. leejay25 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #1
    Just purchased a new imac 20"

    I turned on for first time and was really impressed with the welcome display.

    I entered all the info it asked like name, company name and so on.

    Trouble is i now have a general folder called "My Name" i.e. Joe Blogs but it's for use for a 2 man band company and instead of this folder being called "my name" i want it to read "Company Name"

    Is it possible to start again and go through the whole register screen on very first start up again cause i want to change this field and also wouldn't mind seeing the welcome display again.

    Thanks in advance,

    Lee.
     
  2. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Lee

    You can go to system preferences, then to users.
    Click the + to add a new user.
    Get the information that you want correct here (ie. company name) and make sure that the user is an "administrator."

    Log off your initial account, and log into the newly created account.
    You can then remove the first account (again from sys prefs/users)

    BEWARE, anything that you want to keep from the initial users HOME directory should be backed up first. Shouldnt be much of an issue if its only a few days old.

    Or you can set up multiple accounts on your machine, ie. one each.
    Then you will have some privacy, and mail, address book etc will be able to be configured for each person. Which probably/maybe a better solution?

    I'm not sure how to completely reset the machine so it goes through the welcome stuff again, someone else here may be able to tell you.

    But the above fix will do exactly what you require.
     
  3. hologram macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #3
    He's (She's) right, that's the easiest way. But if you want to start over again from the registration process, back everything up first. Then you'll have to re-install the OS doing an erase and install (or a reformat and install).

    It's a lot easier just to create another user.
     
  4. leejay25 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #4
    That's great thanks for your help.

    I will try it tonight, not to fussed about the welcome again but it was nice to see.

    Once again thank you very much to both of you for your help.

    Great Forum this i can see me spending a few hours on here everyday.

    Think i have been bitten by the bug.:D
     
  5. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    no problems.

    if you have any difficulties, just ask away, or PM myself.

    unrelated - i'm also Lee (even spelt the same way!) :)
     

Share This Page