re-serializing a MBP - how???

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PrincipeAzzurro, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. PrincipeAzzurro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #1
    Hi,

    I am looking for a way to modify my MacBook Pro's serial number. The reason is that the logic board was changed twice (!) in Bahrain by the crappy Apple Service there (the only one in the Gulf region though) before they realized it was a faulty RAM issue. They have put in the number that is imprinted on the second motherboard instead of the one printed on the case (the original one). Now several software associations do not work anymore.

    I have found software that allows to serialize Macs with NO serial numbers, but they all require that the number is blank. My case is different, I have to reset it to the original one. Apple service here says it can't do it, they want the machine to bear the motherboard's number, even if the case itself bears a different number - totally illogical for me.

    Any ideas?

    BTW my MBP is a late 2011 8,1 (2,5GHz 17 inch)
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    It's not possible to reserialize an already-serialized motherboard. Apple's tools only set a serial on a new/unserialized motherboard.
     
  3. PrincipeAzzurro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #3
    Are you 100% sure about this? I am not doubting you personally but I kind of feel queasy with "absolute" answers - except if you say you work for Apple and know this for sure, in that case I would shut up. So, do you?
    Many people say it is impossible, but as many say the exact opposite. "Logic dictates" that something that can be written once can also be written twice. It's like with firmware, isn't it?
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    The issue is that there's no need to re-serialize a logic board so no tools exist. That is once its set, then there's really no reason to re-do it.

    I agree chrfr, I don't think you can do anything about it after the fact.
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    I'm just telling you that Apple's tools do not work on an already serialized board. The tool is even called the "Blank Board Serializer." If there are other tools, not from Apple, which work, I don't know.
     
  6. PrincipeAzzurro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015

Share This Page