Read All Day Long about Jail Breaking

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by turney, May 17, 2011.

  1. turney macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #1
    If I am right, then this is what i think I need to do:
    1. Create a folder on my desktop
    2. Get RedSnow
    3. Look on my Iphone for the correct OS and obtain the correct version to coincide with my phone
    4. Open and run Redsnow, following the directions on my CPU which will include opening the correct OS file and installing Sydia.


    Am I missing anything?

    Also, I have modified a phone before but what are the odds of me completely bricking my phone?

    Thanks and I love this place!:D
     
  2. imaketouchtheme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #2
    That's exactly correct. It's no harder than it sounds.

    And you won't brick your phone.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Shouldnt be that hard.
    Let us know what iphone model and firmware you're on and we can point you to a tutorial.
    And if you're using a windows or mac computer.
     
  4. turney thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #4
    I am gonna try this out on a friends Iphone 3G. My iphone 4 will be here early next week. I will be on the window OS.
     
  5. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #5
  6. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
  7. Sparky9292 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8H7 Safari/6533.18.5)

    +1
     
  8. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #8
    Exactly. Not every iOS can be JB with redsnow.
     
  9. turney thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #9
    I have been there and read it. If I am using a OS that is not JB, then I need to down grade to a OS that is JB......

    How exactally do I do this?
     
  10. iFiend macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #10
    You probably can't, depending on what firmware it is. I can't remember but there was a time where the 3G did not have to have saved blobs to downgrade. But we're getting a little ahead of ourselves here :)

    Tell us what firmware it is on currently, and if that is the firmware that you want to jailbreak it at.
     

Share This Page