Read Apple in Vista and write to Apple from Vista

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by toddbe, Apr 5, 2008.

  1. toddbe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #1
    I am about to get a Mac Pro, and will edit my pictures via Photoshop CS3 in Leopard. I will then be printing them from my Vista partition using Qimage, and then using Qimage to take my Tiff files, and create jpegs back to Apple. Two questions:

    1- How do I enable Vista to read the Tiff files in Apple, and print in Vista?
    2- How can I write jpegs from Vista back to Apple?

    Thanks for your help!
    Todd
     
  2. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    MacDrive 7 http://www.mediafour.com/products/macdrive/ (costly) will do enable you to read/write a mac partition from vista, which is perfect for your needs.

    not too sure how to write to NTFS partition from osx, i know there are some programs if your willing to pay a bit more. osx can READ ONLY to NTFS. and vista doesnt allow you to use Fat32, which osx can read/write too. stupid M$.

    an external HD might be what you need, or a flash drive. very tedious but it may be your only option, unless you use XP and format as fat32.

    to answer your questions:
    1. mac drive will enable you to navigate to the saved location on osx partition, you might have to save them as windows tif, (i think you have to change the file extention to just one "f"....i.e. photo1.tif, instead of photo1.tiff

    2. again, macdrive will do this without any hitches.
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
  5. toddbe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #5
    I will be using VM Fusion, probably not Bootcamp. Don't know if that makes a difference or not.

    Todd
     
  6. ert3 macrumors 6502a

    ert3

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #6
    IT does if you don't install to a boot camp partition.

    If you chose to make a vmware virtual disk instead of a boot camp partition then yes it does.

    If you make a boot camp partition and then use VM-fusion to run windows then you should be fine using the above advice.
     
  7. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    If you are using Fusion then you can just drag and drop between Mac OS and Windows.
     
  8. toddbe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #8
    Only if I create a vmware virtual disk instead of a boot camp partition?

    If you are using Fusion then you can just drag and drop between Mac OS and Windows.
     
  9. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    You can drag and drop between Windows and OS X while Fusion is running. If you want to copy while in boot camp or you need the links supplied by neil321.
     
  10. pooky macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    #10
    Fusion also allows you to set up a shared folder on the mac side. Save your files there, then they will show up in a network folder on the windows side. It's actually simpler than drag and drop, since you don't have to mess with copying files.
     

Share This Page