Ready to give up. 3rd 3rd 3GS, same old issues.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by marjen, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. marjen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    #1
    OK what is going on?! I am now on my 2nd replacement 3Gs and all 3 have had the same issues. Works for a little bit, then start getting the old "Restore Needed" message on the screen. Also have deley when the phone is asleep and you press home button, takes 5 seconds or so to wake. What the hell. I had an original iphone worked fine for 2 years, just went back to it while waiting for 3gs to be returned and continues to work fine. But I wanted GPS, 3G, video and more speed. But I can not continue to have a useless phone. Apple does not seem to have any answers. Syncing to same computer as old iphone with same apps installed. I am sooooo frustrated at this point. :mad:
     
  2. Unspoken Demise macrumors 68040

    Unspoken Demise

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    >9,000
    #2
    There you go.
    Sync to computer as new phone. You may have a corrupted older file that is messing with your new phone.
    I hope that fixes your issues.
     
  3. marjen thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    #3
    Have restored the phone as new many times, all 3 of them in fact. Does not help. Tried os 3.0 and 3.0.1 same issues.
     
  4. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    Why don't you let Apple set it up in the store for you then? You're most likely doing something wrong while setting it up.
     
  5. Eso macrumors 68000

    Eso

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #5
    You clearly have no idea what you are doing.
     
  6. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #6
    Go to system preferences and reset ALL settings on the phone. Don't erase content just reset all settings. Its pretty obvious its not the phones but the stuff you're carrying over from previous non 3GS phones
     
  7. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #7
    I agree with others. Clearly something is wrong with your setup. Try restoring and then setting up as a new iPhone (rather than restoring from a backup). Go into iTunes and set it to sync only checked apps. Use it for a while and if nothing happens add back one app at a time, using it for a while after adding each app.
     
  8. marjen thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    #8
    Well I have owned an iphone for 2+ years and no i am not an idiot. Never had a single issue with my old phone. I have restored all 3 3Gs as a NEW phone. Tried restore not as new phone from backups as well. Also had apple setup two of them at the store. Apple claims its software but has provided no solution to fix my issue. This one I just got Thursday. It worked for about 1 day then started having the delayed home button issue. This morning after using phone since last Thursday with no restore message, I got the restore message again. Shut phone off turned back on and it is working at the moment. When it is asleep it also loses its connection to ATT and says no service, so when its asleep I get no calls on the phone, they never show up, it never rings. Only if phone is plugged in do i get texts or calls while phone is asleep. Same for all 3 of the 3Gs so far.
     
  9. njl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    SAT
    #9
    looks like you have a corrupted file somewhere..
     
  10. Unspoken Demise macrumors 68040

    Unspoken Demise

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    >9,000
    #10
    No one is implying you are an idiot. You had conflicting posts that made you seem as though you didnt know what you were talking about. We're trying to help.
     
  11. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #11
    At this point I would remove iTunes completely and reinstall it.

    Maybe iTunes is loading a corrupt file onto the phone, regardless if you're restoring as a new phone or from backup.
     
  12. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #12
    Nobody is implying that you are an idiot. I, for one, offered straightforward troubleshooting advice. But for us to be able to help you, you have to accept that after two replacements the problem is infinitesimally likely to be the iPhone. The problem is clearly something about the computer/software with which you are syncing. We're just trying to help you figure out which it is.

    Have you tried restoring the phone and not syncing, yet? Just restore it to factory defaults and set it up as a new iPhone. Try it for a day or two without syncing at all. If it works, then follow the troubleshooting procedure I suggested above: add one thing at a time back onto your iPhone using the checkboxes to control what's synced until it stops working, then you'll know what's causing the problem. If you still have problems after a restore without sync, I suggest you follow Dan73's suggestion and reinstall iTunes.
     
  13. MotionxxUSxx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #13
    when you restor, do not restore from a backup. Restore as a new phone and than move over your apps.
     
  14. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #14
    Marjen,

    From what you have described, there is something, somewhere wrong with your setup. It's pretty nigh impossible for the same fault to appear on three separate 'phones - and be the fault of the 'phones.

    It's very easy to simply blame and rubbish the iPhone for a fault that has all the appearances of being in either your setup procedure or your computer/software.
     
  15. marjen thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    #15
    Yes I know most were trying to be helpful, was responding to another post which looks like it was deleted. Sorry Just VERY frustrated. I just tried the suggestion to resest all settings and will see if that helps. I agree the chances of getting 3 bad iphones is close to nill but am at a loss. I mean i stripped the 2nd one down to nothing but a clean install, new phone setup with no other apps still had the issue. Apple does not seem to have a clue either. I did try another computer as well. This computer syncs fine to two other iphones with no issues which is even stranger.
     
  16. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #16
    User error. Should try the Blackberry, I heard they were designed for people that cannot figure out how to use iPhone.
     
  17. RumorHasIt.... macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #17
    Your backup is the problem

    Yes, I agree. It seems some file in your backup is causing the problems. That's why neither restoring nor setting it as a new phone works; you just keep reloading the corrupt file(s).
     
  18. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #18
    Might also want to download a fresh IPSW file maybe the firmware you're restoring to is...bad
     
  19. Harpoon Spoon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #19
    If at first you dont succeed, then sky diving is not for you.
     
  20. BMac702 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #20

    I didnt know they had a skydiving iPhone app?
     
  21. sinsin07 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #21
    Your post shows two things, you don't know anything about Blackberries or iPhones.

    To the original OP, you mentioned you tried another computer, what were the results?
     
  22. marjen thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    #22
    Same results with another computer. I have now gotten restore 3 times today, after not getting it since i got phone Thursday, Have not installed anything new or done one single thing differently than yesterday lol. I dont get it.
     
  23. sinsin07 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #23
    Is there even a remote chance that the second PC you tried was ever used to synch your original first gen iPhone?
     
  24. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #24
    Okay, I don't see anywhere where you have done a DFU restore or that anyone has suggested it. This is the cleanest restore and "may" help you. Do a DFU restore like this:

    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1034

    Restore as new and try that. I would suggest you not sync any apps. See how that goes for a few days and then do as the latinist said and add apps one at a time (or you can tell us what apps you have and we may be able to spot trouble apps).

    I'm glad you've ignored the negative replies.
     
  25. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #25
    Definitely no. I have a Verizon Blackberry Tour and an iPhone 3GS on AT&T. Don't even think for a second that the Blackberry is easier to use.
     

Share This Page