Ready to take the plunge

Discussion in 'iMac' started by janedo1586, May 3, 2011.

  1. janedo1586 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #1
    I will be joining the PC to Mac community soon and getting a new 27" iMac. One thing just struck me though. I have a Linksys wireless router. Will this be compatible with my iMac or will I need some new piece of hardware?

    Also, coming from a couple of crappy Dell computers that never really ran Sims 3 well at all, if I go with the $1999 27" i5 with 4 gig of RAM, will I finally be able to play my Sims with high quality graphics? :rolleyes:

    Any input is appreciated!
     
  2. opera57 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #2
    Awesome! Yeah your current router should be no problem, they are OS-independent.

    The Sims 3 should run fine, assuming the version you have is compatible with Mac OS, and yeah, the graphics should be pretty awesome too! [​IMG]
     
  3. janedo1586 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
  4. CBGFilms macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #4
    You will be fine playing The Sims 3 on one of these new iMac's, even my early 2008 iMac model plays it flawlessly!
     
  5. rew4946 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #5
    New imacs out today

    :mad:I guess I should have waited to get my Imac a few more weeks, The i3 27 inch was kind of neat until I found out it was now three weeks later a Good paper weight. But the one out today will be thrown out in a few months again. I will replace this one with a new Intel Quad Core i7 Windows 7, I dont like the way Apple dumps products so fast.:mad:
     
  6. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #6
    You are right. A yearly product refresh cycle is too frequent. And MR hasn't been pointing to new iMacs this month for the past 6 weeks or so. :eek:
     
  7. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #7
    Yes, all of the other manufacturers like Dell and HP wait a couple of years between refreshes. *sarcasm*
     
  8. lasuther macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Haven, Michigan
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8H7 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Wait until Lion is released before buying the iMac. Also, pay $100 for the 2GB graphics upgrade.
     

Share This Page