Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fouramphonecall

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 17, 2010
I’ve seen many people on here debating the actual real-world danger of having a stock Apple hard drive (one without built-in drop protection) in the optical bay of a MacBook Pro. Obviously there is a theoretical danger that sudden movement could jerk the disk while it’s in motion and cause damage. But I’d like to see if anyone with significant real-world tech experience actually considers this a major issue. What are the necessary conditions for a scenario where the drive could get damaged? How severe does the movement need to be? Is there only a danger when the drive is spinning or all the time?

Right now I have my SSD in my optical bay and my HD in the HD bay, but I would like to switch that around if it’s really not a significant concern. But, as a college student, I move my computer around quite a bit every day, so I need to take that into account.

BeachChair

macrumors 6502a
Apr 11, 2008
Copenhagen, Denmark
Good questions.

I'm no expert, but it's my impression there is a real risk. I've destroyed an external hard drive by yanking it while in operation and crashed my Xbox once adjusting it's position while it was doing something on the HDD.

fouramphonecall

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 17, 2010
look at the bottom two posts in this thread, thats a bit of extra info to consider.
I myself have a seagate drive, so i have it in the optibay.

By "this thread" do you actually mean THIS thread, or did you mean to link to an external thread?

mac8867

macrumors 6502
Apr 5, 2010
Saint Augustine, FL
I have ** Real World ** experience here... it is a BIG deal.

I am a consultant and am constantly picking up my laptop and moving into meeting rooms etc etc.

My first OptiBay hard drive, without SMS, failed after a few months. (Western Digital Blue 500 GB)