'Real World' Premiere +Media Encoder Speed Test

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SoyCapitanSoyCapitan, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan, Oct 26, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #1
    I promised some members results of a real world speed test in rendering 4K videos with Creative Suite using OpenCL and CUDA. I also include Windows 10 results.

    Specs
    12 core X5690
    24GB RAM
    GTX980
    Yosemite 10.10.5 on Samsung 850 EVO (SATA 3 adapter)
    El Capitan 10.11.1 on Samsung 850 EVO (SATA 3 adapter)
    Windows 10 on Western Digital Harddrive
    All latest Nvidia and CUDA drivers
    Premiere project and video source files on XP941 SSD formatted as xFAT.

    Source : True 4K 4096x2160. No audio. 30 seconds length. PHOTO JPEG Codec.
    Output : Same resolution, no audio, same length. Maximum rendering quality setting. H.264 Codec. Save on the same drive as source footage.

    Notes : GeForce has no OpenCL support on Windows version of Media Encoder.


    Results :
    El Capitan OpenCL : 1:47
    El Capitan CUDA : 1:48
    Yosemite OpenCL : 2:00
    Yosemite CUDA : 2:00
    Windows 10 CUDA : 0.32

    I had to run the Windows test three times because when I saw the progress bar moving so fast I thought there was something wrong with the settings, but they were exactly the same. You can see from the output file sizes all four renders came out to around 44.8MB.

    Conclusion : if you work with video using Creative Suite you would save a lot of time using Windows. This isn't news, but it is shocking to see the result above.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    Yowza!

    What part doesn't support OpenCL in Windows? Creative Suite?
     
  3. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #3
  4. nigelbb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #4
    What graphics cards were used?

    CUDA seems to be functioning for me in El Capitain with a GTX570
     
  5. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #5
    Oops, spec updated

    I have a bug where the NVidia Driver Manager doesn't load most of the time. That means even though the driver works for all usual functions, apps can't detect CUDA.

    I'm almost sure a permissions repair would fix the issue but since El Capitan doesn't think we are smart enough to admin our systems I can't do that.
     
  6. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
  7. koyoot macrumors 603

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #7
    That doesn't surprise me at all, really. Drivers from Nvidia for OS X are still ... you know what, in comparison to Windows. Funniest part is that in El Cap you get better result on Nvidia hardware using OpenCL than CUDA itself. Everything is due the drivers, here.
     
  8. fuchsdh macrumors 65816

    fuchsdh

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #8
    You can run it from the command line if you really think it'll help, but considering I can only think of one time a permissions repair was actually the likely fix to an issue I had in a good decade of using a half-dozen Macs, I don't blame them for removing it.

    As for your conclusion, one test using one machine and one graphics card really isn't the evidence I would use for anything beyond a statement on your own rig.
     
  9. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan, Oct 27, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2015

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #9
    Just ran the same render test on six core nMP, D500, 24GB, Yosemite. OpenCL render obviously.
    Test was on the internal HFS+ drive.
    Result : 1:07
     
  10. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #10
    After the 10.11.1 update two plists in my system launch items and launch daemons had incorrect permissions on them resulting in a runaway process consuming 100% CPU and an extra 10 degrees C. It took the help of someone on this forum and 40 minutes of adding+removing plists and several reboots to find out which ones didn't have the correct permissions. Once I found them and fixed them manually everything was normal again.
     
  11. artoff macrumors member

    artoff

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    Armenia
    #11
    Is there any way that you can share the source files.? Just interesting how can handle my setup exactly with your test.

    Thanks
     
  12. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #12
    The sources I used are client confidential. But I can create a benchmark like the one we have in the Photoshop thread. Will do it this weekend, but will have to find some kind of file sharing site that allows such big files and bandwidth.
     
  13. artoff macrumors member

    artoff

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    Armenia
    #13
    Thanks, yes that's great idea. Can't wait to test and compare results. I think Dropbox is the best way (of course if you have enough space there to keep all that stuff).
     
  14. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #14
    I did put some videos there last month that I shared on this forum. Unfortunately Dropbox didn't not like all that traffic at all and disabled the link! Possibly I will have to use mediafire.
     
  15. PowerMike G5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #15
    Hi-

    You're results interested me, so I decided to run the same test on my cMP with the same codec and file output format (also since my system is similarly spec'd).

    Under El Capitan, my results are:

    CUDA: 00:59
    OPENCL: 01:01

    Multi-CPU usage only hovered around 320% during these renders. I'm a bit surprised Adobe Media Encoder doesn't use more available CPU cores than it does, especially considering it is encoding/transcoding software. Adobe Premiere seems to use all available 12-cores far more efficiently and far more often during editing.

    My results are coming in significantly faster than yours using similar hardware. I wonder what the variables are here. (hopefully you can get your CUDA running on El Capitan and try again).

    I'm also surprised my current system beat your nMP OPENCL score speed on this render, considering the single core speed is higher on your nMP and the d500 is supposedly better at OPENCL, unless I'm mistaken on that fact.
     
  16. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #16
    Different video source files, even with the same codec if the imagery is different then the bit rate and file size won't be the same. It's about time we should have a standard test.

    I didn't even check the CPU usage. That's something else for me to do when I update this topic. But I suspect the more Media Encoder can offload to the GPU the less there is for the CPU to do.
     
  17. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #17
    I can't test at the moment, but does anyone know if OS X is much slower at writing to xFAT? Is so, it might explain some of the differences in the results.
     
  18. jeanlain, Oct 29, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015

    jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #18
    The GTX980 is a Maxwell card right? The drivers may be quite immature at this stage. No Mac comes with this generation of GPU.

    On a related topic : Final Cut vs Premiere Pro
     
  19. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #19
    It's true that the Nvidia web driver doesn't have support for Maxwell's specific features such as data compression at present (which is why the Barefeats gaming benchmarks aren't impressive), but CUDA and OpenCL take advantage of the compute cores which essentially use the same driver code as Kepler.

    There's no point pasting links to Final Cut. It's not a cross platform app that we can analyse performance with properly. It's like comparing Pixelmator to Photoshop.
     
  20. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #20
    Confirmation that Premiere runs better on Windows with nVidia GPUs (this guy doesn't say if it was set to use CUDA).
    The relevant comparison is OS X vs Windows.



    Here Final Cut is slower. It is MUCH faster than Premiere on a recent iMac he tested. Maybe it's because Final Cut uses Intel's Quick Sync Video (not available on older CPUs) or because the older Macs were running Yosemite (which doesn't include Metal) .
     
  21. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #21
    I will have to perform the same tests on an HFS+ formatted drive just in case OSX has slow writes to xFAT, even though that usually has faster write speed than all mainstream formats.
     
  22. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #22
    You really need to get CUDA working. Otherwise you are drag racing with one car having a few spark plug wires yanked off.
     
  23. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #23
    Fixed permissions using Onyx but the NVidia Driver Manager still won't load so CUDA apps can't communicate with the driver. See screenshot of the message I get when El Capitan boots.

    Benched the xFAT formatted XP941 drive. No issues there, OSX reads and writes at the advertised speeds 1150/750MBs even though I have had this SSD for more than a year. No slowdown from use.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #24
    Weyhey, CUDA working on El Cap after reinstall and reboot and fix permissions even though the Driver Manager still doesn't load.

    El Capitan CUDA result is 1:48

    This tells us OpenCL and CUDA performance with NVidia GPU in Adobe apps is identical on Yosemite, and again identical on El Capitan even though the new OS is almost 10% faster.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan thread starter macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #25
    Tried Davinci Resolve 12 to see if it would make a good performance test along side Adobe Media Encoder. Good for free, but doesn't offer the smooth playback, rendering performance and stability of Premiere.
     

Share This Page