Really 1000 cycles and still 80%?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sahni130, Jun 23, 2010.

1. sahni130 macrumors 6502

sahni130

Hello everybody,
    I am a proud owner of a MBP specs in the signature). Everything runs fine but the battery has 18 cycles on it and iStat and Coconut battery are showing a 89% battery health. Is this normal or is my battery defective? Should the health go down 11% after only 18 cycles (supposed to be 80% after 100 cycles and mines 89 after 18 cycles)? I have tried calibrating it but to no avail. :( I get 6-7 hours of battery life with the Apple tested settings (half brightness, etc)

Please offer me some advice.Sorry for the bad grammar and spelling....its 4:30 AM lol...
    Thanks,
    Jay

2. rosas macrumors newbie

first of al let me say i'm kind of a noob here, but as far as i have read here in the forum, apple will replace your battery if it is under 80% after 300 cicles.

if you are getting 80% with a calibrated battery (remember that callibrating is NOT only fully charge and discharge it) then i think you should go to a apple store and check that out because you probably have a defective one.

PS: i have the same macbook pro as you do and i have 100% health on the coconut battery after 33 cicles

3. sauer228 macrumors member

Mine dropped to 95% after the first 2-3 cycles. I'm still getting 7-8 hours so it's really not that big of a deal, but I was a little anxious when it dropped so quickly in such little time. Good to know Apple stands by them if they deteriorate abnormally.

4. JacaByte macrumors 6502

Mine's 98% after 21 cycles, suckers. :p

After reading about how the batteries usually behave straight out of the box it sounds like I just got really lucky. This is the first time I've had the right tools to gauge the battery's capacity and health, so I wouldn't know.

5. MikeinJapan macrumors regular

I am on 474 and 89% health. I think you should get it checked.

6. mansanas macrumors regular