Really confused - No straight answer, Samsung SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by keerf, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. keerf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    Hi All,

    I've gone through a few threads (quite a few to be honest), and I can't seem to get a yes or no answer.

    I just got a macbook pro 2012 (non retina), and bought a Samsung 830 512gb drive for it. I did a fresh install on the drive last night, and then I used Trim Enabler.

    Do I need to enable Trim on a samsung drive? If I do enable trim (which I did), will it cause issues?

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. appletechpro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #2
    It makes sense to enable TRIM on Samsung SSDs due to Apple enabling TRIM on its Samsung SSD modules in the newest generation of MBPs.
     
  3. AdDaMan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kent
  4. Auzburner macrumors 65816

    Auzburner

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY - USA
    #4
  5. keerf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #5
    Hi Auzburner,

    Thanks for the reply (and obviously everyone else so far). I was kind of confused on the Samsung, and also since Trim isn't set by default and you have to make some hacks. I was a little leery.

    I will leave it enabled, I assume no ill effects from the latest version of Trim Enabler, or having trim setup period on a non apple *branded* ssd.
     
  6. MacBird macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    #6
    TRIM is a good idea for Samsung SSDs, only drives with Sandforce controller don't necessarily need it.
     
  7. garstudios macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #7
    if i have an ssd in the optical bay of my 2012 mbp and an hdd in the main bay....does trim still work the way its suppose to on the ssd with out messing with the hdd....if i use the trim enabler app
     
  8. kidstretch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #8
    is trim needed on the crucial m4 ssds?
    i ordered the 256 gb model, was wondering if i need to enable trim on my new 2012 non retina 15" mb.
    also, if i need to enable it, what's the way to go?
    i read about an app that does that but it doesn't work so good and needs to be re applied if you update the os. is it better to do it with a terminal command?
     

Share This Page