Really Confused

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by TimJim, May 20, 2007.

  1. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #1
    ok so i was trying to download GIMP and i knew you needed X11, so i went on apple and it said my new MCP would have it on it automaticly...so i downloaded GIMP tried to run it and it said i needed X11. so i went back to Apple and downloaded X11 and when i tried to install it, it said i already had it so there was no need to. so my mac said i have the new version of X11 but when i try to run GIMP it says i dont

    somebody help me please
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    Install X11 from your apple install disks. That should solve the problem.
     
  3. TimJim thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #3
    will intalling it from my intall disks remove or reset anything on my computer?
     
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    No, as long as you only install X11 and don't accidentally reinstall the OS.
     
  5. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Just put the OSX install Disk 1 in, and use spotlight to find an X11 package, and install it...

    I really don't know why its not included in the regular install...
     

Share This Page