Really?! I can only restore via Wifi?!

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by Smileyboy, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. Smileyboy macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #1
    I was a little bummed out today. I setup a Genius app because my iPhone 4S headphone jack isn't working right. I go in to get a replacement and get the Applecare+ added on. All they had were refurbished units so I couldn't get Applecare+ because It has to be activated on a "new Phone"..... Ok fine.
    So I get my New iPhone pop in the sim and go to restore from backup via iCloud...... Well, Apparently I need wifi to restore it?

    This does't make any sense to me.. That means, I should be caring around a wifi hotspot with me, or I should have everything backed up on a Macbook and carry it around with me or go home and sit and wait at my iMac or wait at my wifi network....... I thought the whole point was to be able to get most of your settings without being connected?
    Why did I just pay for iCloud storage..... I'm now finding iCloud not really the best way to restore.....

    Starbucks, Apple Store have wifi but its too slow..... I'd have to wait 5 hours, base off of what my phone says... So I finally got home and I'm writing this while restoring....Am I missing something?
     
  2. marc11 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #2
    For the infrequent times people need to fully restore I think it is a fair compromise. I mean how often does a person need to fully restore, and would they really want to do so while walking or driving around town?

    Being in Wifi should be faster than 3G and far more reliable, less chance of lost or corrupted data which might require even longer download and restore times.
     
  3. Smileyboy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #3
    I understand that. But I thought some of it would be able to be restored via 3G....
     
  4. marc11 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #4
    Yeah I get your point. Frankly, I would like to at least to have the option to do things over wifi only or 3g/Wifi like PhotoStream, I at least want the option to use my 3G to upload or download from or to PhotoStream. I have unlimited data here, and the speeds are great, so why shouldn't I be able to back up, PhotoStream, FaceTime etc over 3G?

    I think it should be a switchable option in the app settings IMHO, okay default it to WiFi, but let us the owners decide how we want to manage our data.
     
  5. Smileyboy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
  6. britishchris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    iCloud backups can be pretty large, mine is around 700MB and I turned off a lot of stuff to get it down that low. Not to mention it will also pull down apps registered to your account as well (which can be large as well).
    If you have a limited data plan then you could find that restoring from an iCloud backup will wipe out your monthly limit.

    That's probably why it's wifi only.

    Not to mention the speed difference.

    It sucks that it's not an option, but pulling down a 1GB backup from the servers over 3G would take longer than over wifi.

    That being said, you would be able to restore your contacts, calendars and email by adding the account in Settings (assuming it hasn't changed from MobileMe??) So you would at least be able to get your essential data over 3G until you can get to a wifi source.
     
  7. theBigD23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #7
    My back is 3.3GB. Pulling this type of data, even 700MB will take a really long time. You can go to Starbucks and download for free there or at the Apple store, they let you use WiFi as well. Allowing this type of data going over a mobile network when carriers like AT&T are already suffering makes no sense. Not to mention the slow 3G speeds of CDMA on Verizon and Sprint.
     
  8. marc11 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #8
    Yes but you are missing the point, this isn't USA centric or cost centric. I can download as much data as I want here for the same $50 a month and my speeds rival broadband at home, so why shouldn't the option be MINE to use 3g or wifi.

    I do not care if it is slow, I do not care if it would cost a ton and I do not care about the fact that the 3G network speeds and capacity in the USA is crap, the option should still be mine, no?

    Oh and unless we continue to push the speed and capacity envelope in countries like the US where it is utter crap, compared to the outrageous costs you pay, the carriers have no incentive to improve. It boggle my mind why people would want to worry about the ability of the carriers to deliver to the point of NOT using services, rather than question what you are paying for, email over 3g?
     
  9. idkmybffjon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #9
    lets not forget that apple stores all have free wifi, you know like the one you were in when you replaced it :)
     

Share This Page