really long backup times with 3.0

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by liptonlover, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. liptonlover macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #1
    I backup my Touch every sync, so I know it's not just having to backup a lot of stuff unless it's messing up by redoing things. My iPod has been syncing for a few hours now, when it should only take half an hour tops given that I sync at least once a day and like I said I keep it backed up. I'm aware that at least for OS 1.0 there was a send logs to Apple option that slowed things down a lot, did that somehow get turned on? I'm not sure where I'd find that checkbox. Can anyone help fix this?

    Thanks, Nate
     
  2. MacBlackBook22 macrumors 6502

    MacBlackBook22

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Same here I have had mine working on the backup for about 10 hours and the meter still shows only half of its been backed up... sheesh at this rate it will be this evening before its all backed up and which is crazy as it only has to back up less than 1GB... This is a 1st G one and only 8GB on that I mostly use as my ebook reader
     
  3. jmvideo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #3
    Is there any way of stopping these long backup times?

    Can the backup routine be cancelled so it just syncs?

    This 3.0 is getting on my nerves!

    Regards

    John
     
  4. na1577 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #4
    When it says "Backing Up (iPod name)", hit the X icon next to it. It'll stop and continue with the sync. We'll probably have to wait for a firmware update for it to be fixed, I know some people had the same problem with 2.0 and it was fixed with 2.1.
     
  5. al1cre macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    #5
    This isn't a comprehensive solution but it might help. I have an app called AppSniper (nice app). If you leave the icon display on, it will cache every icon of all of the apps it lists (new apps or apps that go on sale). Each of those icons in the cache gets backed up. AppSniper recognized the problem and added an option to clear the icon cache (and/or not download icons), but many people don't know about it. I'm sure other apps have the same kind of cache that doesn't get cleared out. You might try reviewing the apps you run and (if it's not a pain to redo settings) you might remove them and then re-add them, which should clear out the cache.

    Clearing the AppSniper cache alone saved a lot of backup time for me.
     

Share This Page