Really naive questions about starting mac programming

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by jnbrand, May 19, 2010.

1. jnbrand macrumors newbie

... as in so naive I'm not sure if this is even the best place to ask them soif it isn't please accept my apologies in advance.

I have an application which I have written which works on MS and Linux platforms. Now I want to try moving it onto a mac. I have zero experience with macs, never even touched one. So I'm not sure what hardware or software I would have available to try this. Now as far as I can see the minimum I could get away with is a mac mini, reuse an old VGA I've got around here by getting a mini DVI - VGA adapter and Cocoa and Object C should be available on the mac when I get it.

Is that really all I need to start just a mini mac and a VGA adapter? No extra costs for compilers, wierd mac only compatible keyboards etc.?

Ta.

2. sammich macrumors 601

sammich

Yup, you're good to go. When Apple announced the Mac Mini they said it was a:

BYOKMM...bring your own keyboard, mouse and monitor...machine.

All you need to write apps is Xcode, which runs on OS X. And you're sweet.

3. jnbrand thread starter macrumors newbie

Ta.

and Xcode is ... ? A compiler for Object C? Where do I get that or is that already in the box (or a free download)

If that is all I need and XCode is not an additiional cost it sounds like it's going to be cheaper in the end than the MS platform. (and I was always told Macs were the expensive option)

4. sammich macrumors 601

sammich

All you need do is sign up for an Apple Dev account at http://developer.apple.com/ to get at XCode, and a huge library of developer docs/notes, for free. There is a paid for program that gives you dev video's technical support etc.

XCode is a very powerful IDE package for developing OS X apps. Grab it, and have a look for yourself.

EDIT: actually, I think it comes in the box lol. So definitely check it out.

5. NickK1066 macrumors regular